Skip to main content
site header image

RefWorks: Sharing your References

Getting started with your RefWorks account

Sharing your Folder or Database

You can share a folder or database from the Organize & Share Folders tab in the main viewing area of RefWorks.

In the Organize & Share Folders area, you'll see a list of your folders. You have two options:

  • Share your enter database (all references and all folders)

  • Share only a specific folder (or folders)

For each folder there is a Share icon sharefolder.jpgand at the top of the list of folders is the same icon that will Share Entire Database.

Clicking on the Share icon sharefolder.jpg will take you to a Shared Folder Options page.  This page will allow you to set up various permissions for your Guests.  

Also, from the Organize & Share Folders area you can manage your shared references.  After you click the Share icon sharefolder.jpg, the icon will change to indicate the folder is shared.  Clicking on the Shared iconsharedfolder.jpgwill display several options:

  • Share Link sharelink.jpg --   takes you into your shared folder or database.  

Using the URL that is generated for your folder or database, you can also create a custom link to a specific reference that is contained in your shared folder or database.  To do this, add the following to the end of the URL:  & rn=XX (with XX being the RefWorks Ref ID assigned to the particular reference).  Entering this custom URL in a browser will bring the Guest directly to the Full View of that reference.  The Guest has access to the complete folder or database that the linked reference is contained in.  

  • Remove Share folder.jpg-- allows you "unshare" your specific folder or database making it inaccessible to any recipients and removing it from the Shared Area Page (if posted there).  

  • Shared Folder Options  sharedoptions.jpg-- takes you to the Shared Folder Options Page where you can edit or update sharing options.

  • Email this shareemailrefshare.jpg-- launches an email template that you can use to send your unique URL to someone.  

Once you click on the Share icon sharefolder.jpgto share a folder or database, a URL is created.  This URL can be emailed to your intended Guests.  You can copy and paste this URL into your own email or, by clicking on the Email this share icon emailrefshare.jpg, RefWorks will create a message with the URL and some information for the recipient on how to view your references.  

After clicking the Email this share icon emailrefshare.jpg:

    • Add the Guests' e-mail addresses, separating multiple addresses with a semi-colon

    • Make any changes to the Reply to, Subject or Message areas in the appropriate text boxes

    • Click Send email

There is also a Reset button that will restore the default text in the text box.

From the Organize & Share Folders page, for any folder that has already been shared, you can mouse over the Shared sharedfolder.jpgor Folder   folder.jpgicon to share your folder or database on social media sites.  Click on the Facebook facebookicon.jpg, Twitter twittericon.jpg or the More moreicon.jpg icon to share your folder or database on a social media site.

You may also see three links on the main Organize & Share Folders page -- View Shared Area, Statistics and Default Settings:

View Shared Area -- If your organization has implemented the Shared Area Page, you can access it by clicking the View Shared Area button.  This is an optional feature determined by your local RefWorks Administrator so in some cases, you may not see this button.  That indicates that the Shared Area Page has not been implemented for your organization.

Statistics --  shows you total hits per database or folder for a variety of timeframes (i.e., last week, past month, etc.) for each shared folder or database.  This does not show you who accessed the shared references, only how many times your folder or database was accessed.

Default Settings -- allows you to establish shared folder options for all folders.  You can create default settings for existing shared folders or only for folders shared after you save the default settings.

Sharing Your References Video Tutorial