Skip to main content
site header image

CHARTing Health Information: Births

This Web site has been designed to provide a comprehensive collection of links to publicly available health and health determinants data. While the emphasis is on the state of Texas, there are links to sites that cover all of the U.S.

Key to the Texas symbol

 This symbol indicates that the resource provides data only for Texas.

If there is no symbol, the resource provides data for all US states including Texas.

Birth Data Resources

Natality (CDC Wonder) 
Produced by: Centers for Disease & Prevention
Geographic coverage: County and State level

Select: Choose your county, then specify the other groupings you want to view..

Includes: Gender of Child; Birth Weight; Plurality of Birth; Maternal Age; Maternal Race; Hispanic Origin; Maternal Education; Prenatal Care Began; Gestation Period; Anemia; Chronic Hypertension; Pregnancy-associated Hypertension; Eclampsia; Diabetes; Tobacco Use.

Other Information: Interactive database. Can create maps based on criteria you select.

Birth Data (Texas Health Data) Texas resources
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County level

Select: Top link to go to page with both the data and the maps links or select specific resource.

Includes: Birth Data report variables include: age of mom, birth weight, race of mom, gestation in weeks, start of prenatal care, sex of baby, and more. Birth Maps variables include: outcomes, age of mother, marital status, and more.

Other Information: Interactive database.

Texas Data from VitalWeb Texas resource
Produced by: Expert Health Data Programming; dates vary; county level data)
Geographic coverage: County level
Dates of coverage: Dates vary

Select: Top link to go to page with all databases or choose the database you need.

Includes: Report variables include: age of mom, age of dad, birth weight, race of mom, gestation in weeks, start of prenatal care, sex of baby, and more.

Other Information: Interactive database. Did you know? When you create a table in VitalWeb, a unique ID is created that serves as a persistent reference ID. Copy the URL of the table that is created; this is your persistent URL.

Vital Statistics Annual Reports Texas resources
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage:
County level
Dates of coverage: 2001 - 2010

Geographic coverage: State level data Dates of coverage: 2001 - 2006

The narratives provide a context for the birth data so be sure to take a look at it if available.

Birth Tables-- see #9 through #14 for county data

Abortion Tables-- see #33 through #38 for county and facility data;

Birth Maps-- see figures #2, #3, #5 through #8, and #20a and #20b for county data.

Includes: Male and female births; low birth weight infants; births to mother 17 and younger by race/ethnicity; onset of prenatal care within first trimester; educational status of unmarried mothers; pregnancies reported to women 15 to 44 and 13 to 17; abortions by age, length of gestation, and type of facility.

PeriStats
Produced by: March of Dimes
Geographic coverage: State, County, City level
Dates of coverage: 1995 to 2010

When asked to select a location, choose HHS 6. You will then be able to choose Texas under the list of states. From there, you can choose one of the following cities:  Arlington, Austin, Dallas, El Paso, Fort Worth, Houston, San Antonio; or one of 10 counties.

Report variables include: birth rates, birth rates showing percentage by age of mom, birth rates showing percentage by race/ethnicity of mom, overall preterm birth or by maternal age or by race/ethnicity, overall low birthweight or by maternal age or by race/ethnicity, prenatal care timing, prenatal care adequacy, infant mortality rates, infant deaths by age, multiple deliveries, delivery methods, smoking, chlamydia, and uninsured.

Kids Count Data Center
Produced by: Center for Public Policy Priorities
Geographic coverage: County level
Dates of coverage: Varies

Includes: Infant mortality; Low birthweight births (<2,500 grams); Preterm births; Total births; Total teen births; Teen births to women who were already mothers; Births to unmarried women; Preterm births; Births to females less than 20 years of age; Teen mothers ages 15 to 19; Births to foreign-born mothers; Very Low-birthweight babies; Low-birthweight babies; Teen births by age group;  Births to mothers with less than 12 years of education  (Explain Series Data); Births to women receiving late or no prenatal care; Births to mothers who smoked during pregnancy; Total births by race; Teen births by race; Low birthweight babies by race

Preventable Hospitalizations

Preventable Hospitalizations
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County and state level
Dates of coverage: 2005

Preventable Hospitalizations
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County and state level
Dates of coverage: 2002

Preventable Hospitalizations
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County and state level
Dates of coverage: 2001

Select:

Includes: Map showing number of admissions by county and a table providing actual data.

Other Information: See also Hospitalizations in Texas, 2001 for additional state level information.

Texas Kids Count 
Produced by: Center for Public Policy Priorities
Geographic coverage: County level
Dates of coverage: 1990-2011

Select: Scroll down the page to view major reports for TX.

Includes: Teen pregnancies (13 to 19), low birthweight infants, and prenatal care. Also includes current events news stories with late-breaking data.

Other Information: Be sure to take a look at their special reports.

Deep in the Heart of Texas: Uninsured Children in the Lone Star State 
Produced by: FamiliesUSA
Geographic coverage: Estimates for some county, primarily state level
Dates of coverage: Some data back to 1990; some data from 2002

Select:

Includes:

Other Information: The report is covers some trends at the state level but it also mentioned specific regions of Texas. Take note of the list of references, in particular #15 which reads in part: "No state or national surveys are available that estimate the number of uninsured children in Texas by county. There are census data from 1989 and 1993 about the number of children living below the poverty line by county. There is also information from the Current Population Survey from 1997 and earlier years about the relationship between family income and children's insurance status on a statewide basis. This data can be used in different ways to estimate the number of uninsured children by county."

Youth Risk Behavioral Surveillance Survey
Produced by: Centers for Disease Contro & Prevention
Geographic coverage: Selected cities: Dallas and Houston; State level data; State level data minus Houston
Dates of coverage: 2001 to 2007

Select: Either the risk behavior, then scroll down to the cities surveyed, or select the location, then the years of comparison for all risk behaviors.

Includes: Unintentional Injuries and Violence Dietary Behaviors; Tobacco Use; Physical Activity; Alcohol and Other Drug Use; and Sexual Behaviors.

Other Information: You can run a comparison between years of data to see if there has been a change in behavior.

 

Subject Guide

Angel Hooper's picture
Angel Hooper
Contact:
713-500-9124