Skip to main content
site header image

CHARTing Health Information: Infant, Maternal, & Child Mortality

This Web site has been designed to provide a comprehensive collection of links to publicly available health and health determinants data. While the emphasis is on the state of Texas, there are links to sites that cover all of the U.S.

Key to the Texas symbol

This symbol indicates that the resource provides data only for Texas.

If there is no symbol, the resource provides data for all US states including Texas.

Overview

Be sure to review the Mortality Data page for data sites that cover mortality in general.

This page covers just special reports and data sets linked to infant mortality as well as mortality during childbirth.

Infant & Maternal Mortality

Linked Birth/Infant Death (CDC Wonder)
Produced by: Centers for Disease & Prevention
Geographic coverage: County and State level
Dates of coverage: 1995 to 2009

Select: The files are broken into 4 groupings based on ranges of years so you will need to determine which range of years is appropriate for your needs.

Includes: Gender of Child; Birth Weight; Plurality of Birth; Maternal Age; Maternal Race; Hispanic Origin; Maternal Education; Prenatal Care Began; Gestation Period; Anemia; Chronic Hypertension; Pregnancy-associated Hypertension; Eclampsia; Diabetes; Tobacco Use.

Other Information: Interactive database. Can create maps based on criteria you select.

Infant Mortality Rate Analyzer (Texas Health Data) Texas resources
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County level

This site requires Java.

Vital Statistics Annual Reports Texas resources
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage:
County level
Dates of coverage: 2001 - 2010

Geographic coverage: State level data Dates of coverage: 2001 - 2006

The narratives provide a context for the death data so be sure to take a look at it if it is available.

Death Tables: see tables #5, #6, #22, and #28 through #32.

Figures: see figures #10, #12, and #19.

PeriStats
Produced by: March of Dimes
Geographic coverage: State, County, City level
Dates of coverage: 2006 to 2009

View infant mortality rates, perinatal mortality, and late fetal morality by county.

Kids Count Data Center: Infant Mortality 
Produced by: Center for Public Policy Priorities
Geographic coverage: County level
Dates of coverage: 1990 to 2010

This link directly to infant mortality for Texas but there is data for other states as well.

In addition, you can select tables and maps to show data by county and by year.

Child Mortality

Child Fatality Review Team 
Produced by:  Texas Primarily State Level
Dates of coverage: 1995 to 2009

See county reports for more detailed information:

Childhood Lead Exposure Data, Statistics, & Surveillance 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: State level; county level
Dates of coverage: 2005 to 20011

Data shows the number of children by county and year who have been tested for lead exposure.

Subject Guide

Angel Hooper's picture
Angel Hooper
Contact:
713-500-9124