Skip to main content
site header image

CHARTing Health Information: Air Quality Data

This Web site has been designed to provide a comprehensive collection of links to publicly available health and health determinants data. While the emphasis is on the state of Texas, there are links to sites that cover all of the U.S.

Key to the Texas symbol

This symbol indicates that the resource provides data only for Texas.

If there is no symbol, the resource provides data for all US states including Texas.

Air Quality Data

Air Quality Data
Produced by: Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Geographic coverage: Local level
Dates of coverage: Varies

General Air Pollution and Meteorological Data

Ozone Data

Particulate Matter

Sources of Air Emissions

  • Point Source Emissions Inventory
    The Point Source Emissions Inventory is an annual survey of chemical plants, refineries, electric utility plants and other industrial sites that meet the reporting criteria in the TCEQ emissions inventory rule. Reports on: PM10, PM2.5, NOX, VOC, SO2, and CO
  • Non-Point Source Emissions Data (On-road mobile, non-road mobile, biogenic, and area sources)

Air Toxics
Air toxics, also known as hazardous air pollutants, are pollutants that are known or suspected to cause cancer or other serious health effects. Benzene, arsenic, and mercury are examples of air toxics.

 Air Monitoring: Today's Texas Air Quality Forecast

Air Monitoring Site Information

Texas State Implementation Plan (Texas Commission on Environmental Quality)
This site looks at the air quality guideline attainment levels throughout Texas.

Texas Air Monitoring Information System (TAMIS)
Produced by: Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Geographic coverage: Local level
Dates of coverage: Varies

TAMISWeb allows users to generate and download predefined reports containing air quality data and associated information stored in the TAMIS database. This data is collected and maintained by the Data Management Team of the Field Operations Support Division within the Office of Compliance and Enforcement.

TAMIS contains ambient air quality data values for many parameters, including:
  • Criteria Pollutants
  • Hazardous Air Pollutants (HAPs)
  • Volatile Organic Compounds (VOC's)
  • Meteorological Data

Air Emission Event Report Database
Produced by: Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Geographic coverage: Facility level
Dates of coverage: 2003 to present

Air Pollution Events
Produced by: Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Geographic coverage:
Dates of coverage:
2000 to current year


 

This site contains links to descriptions and analyses of data for large-scale air pollution events, such as high ozone levels and dust storms, throughout Texas.

AirNow-- State and Local Air Quality Forecasts
Produced by: US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Geographic coverage: Local
Dates of coverage: 2011 to present

 

 

AirNow: Texas

Air Quality Maps Archive

AirData
Produced by: US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Geographic coverage: City & county level
Dates of coverage: 1980 to present

Air Quality Forecast Guidance-- Southern Plains
Produced by: US National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Geographic coverage: City & county level
Dates of coverage: 19current

"This map shows NOAA's National Weather Service Air Quality Forecast Guidance. Ozone is shown as 1-hour and 8-hour concentrations (in parts per billion or ppb), updated twice daily. Official Air Quality point forecasts, issued by state and local air quality forecasters, along with additional information on air quality can be found under EPA's AIRNow site."

Visibility Information Exchange Web System (VIEWS)
Produced by: Colorado State University
Geographic coverage: Local
Dates of coverage: 2011 to present

Requires free registration. Views is an online exchange of air quality data, research, and ideas designed to understand the effects of air pollution on visibility and to support the Regional Haze Rule enacted by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to reduce regional haze and improve visibility in national parks and wilderness areas.

State of the Air Reports
Produced by: The American Lung Association
Geographic coverage: County & city level
Dates of coverage: Past year

Interactive site; look up your state or city to find data on overall air quality.

Border Air Quality Data- Reports
Produced by: US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Geographic coverage: US-Mexico border
Dates of coverage: 1997 to 2007

Interactive site; create reports to Monitor Values (Annual summary of standards-related air monitoring data reported by each monitoring site); Monitor Trends (Number of times per year pollutant concentration exceeded U.S. air quality standards at each monitoring site); Monitor Summary (Peak values of pollutant concentrations at each monitoring site, like the Air Quality Trends publication). Find additional information about chemicals or hazardous substances in a ToxNet database.

 

Subject Guide

Angel Hooper's picture
Angel Hooper
Contact:
713-500-9124