Skip to main content
site header image

CHARTing Health Information: Cancer Data

This Web site has been designed to provide a comprehensive collection of links to publicly available health and health determinants data. While the emphasis is on the state of Texas, there are links to sites that cover all of the U.S.

Key to the Texas symbol

This symbol indicates that the resource provides data only for Texas.

If there is no symbol, the resource provides data for all US states including Texas.

Cancer Incidence & Prevalence Resources

Texas Cancer Registry 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County, state, and health service regions level
Dates of coverage: varies

 

Cancer Statistics in Texas

TCR Featured and Epidemiological Publications

Cancer Statistics in Texas
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services, Texas Cancer Registry
Geographic coverage: County, state, and health service regions level
Dates of coverage: varies

Cancer Statistics in Texas
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services, Texas Cancer Registry
Geographic coverage: County, state, and health service regions level
Dates of coverage: varies

TCR Featured & Epidemiological Publications 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services, Texas Cancer Registry
Geographic coverage: County, state, and health service regions level
Dates of coverage: varies

Cancer in Texas 2011 (PDF)
Cancer in Texas 2009 (PDF)

Cervical Cancer in Texas 2010 (PDF)
Cervical Cancer in Texas 2006 (PDF)

Colorectal Cancer in Texas 2008 (PDF)

Prostate Cancer in Texas 2006

Texas Cancer Facts & Figures 2008 (PDF; from the American Cancer Society)

  1. Overview (.pdf, 4.91 MB)
  2. Female Breast Cancer (.pdf, 1.19 MB)
  3. Cervical Cancer (.pdf, 1.17 MB)
  4. Colorectal Cancer (.pdf, 1.69 MB)
  5. Lung Cancer (.pdf, 2.02 MB)
  6. Prostate Cancer (.pdf, 1.25 MB)
  7. Melanoma (.pdf, 274 KB)
  8. Cancer in Children & Adolescents (.pdf, 1.37 MB)
  9. Summary (.pdf, 1.75 MB)

The Cost of Cancer in Texas 2007 (PDF)

Tobacco & Cancer (PDF)
Dates of coverage: 2001 to 2005

Cancer Incidence & Mortality in Texas, 2001-2005 Report (.pdf, 1.93 MB)
Cancer Incidence & Mortality in Texas, 2001-2004 (PDF)

2010 Selected Cancer Fact Sheet for Texas (.pdf, 659 KB
2009 Selected Cancer Facts Sheet for Texas(.pdf, 350 KB)

2009 Selected Cancer Facts Sheets by Health Service Region

2009 Selected Cancer Facts Sheets by County

Texas Data Use: List of publications, presentations and other research that have utilized TCR data (.pdf, 2.4 MB)

 

State Cancer Profiles
Produced by: National Cancer Institute
Geographic coverage: County level
Dates of coverage: 1975 to most current available

 

 

SMART: Selected Metropolitan/Micropolitan Area Risk Trends (BRFSS)
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Geographic coverage: Metropolitan/Micropolitan Statistical Area (MMSA)-- Amarillo; Austin-Round Rock; Brownsville-Harlingen; Dallas-Plano-Irving; Del Rio; El Paso; Fort Worth-Arlington; Houston-Sugar Land-Baytown; Laredo; Lubbock; McAllen-Edinburg-Mission; Midland; San Antonio; Tyler; Wichita Falls
Dates of coverage: 2002 to 2010

Cancer Mortality Maps (National Cancer Institute)
Produced by: National Cancer Institute
Geographic coverage: County and state level
Dates of coverage: 1950 to 2004

Includes: More for 35 cancers, including brain and ONS, esophagus, breast, lung and bronchus cervical, leukemia, non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, ovarian, thyroid, and stomach.

 

Subject Guide

Angel Hooper's picture
Angel Hooper
Contact:
713-500-9124