Skip to main content
site header image

CHARTing Health Information: Cardiovascular Disease & Stroke Data

This Web site has been designed to provide a comprehensive collection of links to publicly available health and health determinants data. While the emphasis is on the state of Texas, there are links to sites that cover all of the U.S.

Key to the Texas symbol

This symbol indicates that the resource provides data only for Texas.

If there is no symbol, the resource provides data for all US states including Texas.

Cardiovascular Disease & Stroke

SMART: Selected Metropolitan/Micropolitan Area Risk Trends
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Geographic coverage: Metropolitan/Micropolitan Statistical Area (MMSA)
Dates of coverage: 2002 to current

 

Cardiovascular Disease in Texas Data & Surveillance 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services, Cardiovascular Disease & Stroke Program
Geographic coverage: County, state, and health service regions level
Dates of coverage: varies

Cardiovascular Disease (CVD) in Texas: A Risk Factor Report

Fact Sheets

Fact Sheet for Cardiovascular Disease in Texas 2011 (PDF)
Fact Sheet for Cardiovascular Disease in Texas 2009 (PDF)

Fact Sheets for Cardiovascular Disease in Health Service Regions 1 to 11 (2009)

Fact Sheets for Cardiovascular Disease in Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs) and Primary Metropolitan Statistical Areas (PMSAs) (2009)

Fact Sheets for Cardiovascular Disease in Cities and Counties (2009)

Fact Sheets for Trauma Service Areas:

The Burden Report: Cardiovascular Disease and Stroke in Texas (January 2008; PDF; state level data with county-level maps)

Chronic Disease in Texas: A Surveillance Report of Disease Indicators (February 2008; PDF)

Hospital Compare
Produced by: US Health & Human Service
Geographic coverage: Hospital level data
Dates of coverage: most current data available

Use this site to review quality indicators for hospitals in a specified area or by name.  Cardiovascular indicators include: Rate of readmission & death rate for heart attack patients; Rate of readmission & death rate for heart failure patients; Rate of readmission & death rate for stroke patients

Utilization Review: Specific Inpatient Procedures by Texas Hospital Referral Region 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services, Texas Health Care Information Collection
Geographic coverage: Hospital referral region
Dates of coverage: 2010

Coronary Artery Bypass Graft (CABG)

Percutaneous Transluminal Coronary Angioplasty (PTCA) 

Interactive Atlas of Heart Disease and Stroke 
Produced by: CDC Division for Heart Disease and Prevention
Geographic Coverage: 
County and State level data
Dates of coverage: Varies

 

Subject Guide

Angel Hooper's picture
Angel Hooper
Contact:
713-500-9124