Skip to main content
site header image

CHARTing Health Information: Diabetes Data

This Web site has been designed to provide a comprehensive collection of links to publicly available health and health determinants data. While the emphasis is on the state of Texas, there are links to sites that cover all of the U.S.

Key to the Texas symbol

This symbol indicates that the resource provides data only for Texas.

If there is no symbol, the resource provides data for all US states including Texas.

See also

See also: Mortality Data for interactive sites to create tables by sex, race/ethnicity, age, and geography.

Diabetes

Diabetes Data: Surveillance and Evaluation
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
​Geographic coverage: County, region, and state level

Includes: Data from the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System and hospital discharge data.Other Information:PDF documents.

Diabetes Projections in Texas, 1990-2030 
Produced by: State of Obesity
Geographic coverage: State level

Scroll down to view diabetes projection data.

The State of Obesity is a project of the Trust for America's Health and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

Texas Diabetes Surveillance Data by County
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Geographic coverage: State level; minimal county level
Dates of coverage: 2004 to current

Includes: Data from the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System and hospital discharge data.

Potentially Preventable Hospitalizations 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County and state level
Dates of coverage: 2006 to current

County Profiles (2013) 

Preventable Hospitalizations (2005) 

Preventable Hospitalizations (2002) 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County and state level
Preventable Hospitalizations (2001) 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County and state level
After accessing the resource, select the condition of interest in the right menu bar.
Texas BRFSS: Texas Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: State, Public Health Region, and MSAs (Austin, Dallas, Fort Worth, El Paso, Houston, McAllen, San Antonio), non-MSAs, border counties, non-border counties
Dates of coverage: 2002 to most current

BRFSS Query Form

See: Awareness: Diabetes

Sample data; Definition: Adults who were doctor diagnosed as having diabetes. Women diagnosed while pregnant are counted as "No".

SMART: BRFSS City and County Data and Documentation
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Geographic coverage: City & County level

Select: Chronic Disease Indicators

These are data sets only; interactive maps are at the state level.

Reports to the Texas Legislature: Statewide Assessment of Existing Programs for the Prevention and Treatment of Diabetes   

Subject Guide

Angel Hooper's picture
Angel Hooper
Contact:
713-500-9124