Skip to main content
site header image

CHARTing Health Information: Infectious Diseases

This Web site has been designed to provide a comprehensive collection of links to publicly available health and health determinants data. While the emphasis is on the state of Texas, there are links to sites that cover all of the U.S.

Key to the Texas symbol

This symbol indicates that the resource provides data only for Texas.

If there is no symbol, the resource provides data for all US states including Texas.

Infectious Disease Incidence

Data for Sexually Transmitted Infections is found on a separate page.

Texas Annual Reports
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services, Infectious Disease Control Unit
Geographic coverage: State level with some county coverage
Dates of coverage: 1930's to present

Includes: Has broad coverage on major infectious diseases in Texas. Lots of data for Texas with nice maps showing some county data..

Selected Vaccine-Preventable Disease Statistics Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services

Includes: Chickenpox; Hepatitis B; Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib); measles; mumps; pertussis (whooping cough); rubella; and tetanus.

Other Information: Additional reports are available from the Immunization Division.

Vaccine Coverage Levels Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services

Includes: Chickenpox; Hepatitis B; Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib); measles; mumps; pertussis (whooping cough); rubella; and tetanus.

Other Information: Additional reports are available from the Immunization Division.

Articles related to the National Immunization Survey
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control
Geographic coverage: Larger Texas counties covered in various reports: Bexar, Dallas, and El Paso Counties, City of Houston, the rest of the state
Dates of coverage: 1994 to 2009

Includes: National, State, and Urban Area Vaccination Coverage Among Children Aged 19-35 Months

 

Weekly Data from the National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Geographic coverage: State level
Dates of coverage: 1996 to present

Select: There are 8 tables reporting the disease in alphabetical order by disease. You will need to find the table by trial and error.

Includes: Infectious diseases; specifically, salmonella, tuberculosis, meningococcal infections, septicemia, syphilis, measles, viral hepatitis, HIV, and malaria to name a few.

Other Information: These are provisional cases of selected national notifiable diseases, from the National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System (NNDSS). NNDSS data reported by the 50 states, New York City, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. territories are collated and published weekly as numbered tables printed in the back of the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR). Cases reported by state health departments to CDC for weekly publication are provisional because of ongoing revision of information and delayed reporting.

Zoonosis Control Center
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County level
Dates of coverage: Dates vary

Select: Under Infectious Diseases, click on the letter of the infectious disease you want more information on.

Includes: While many descriptions are provided of zoonotic diseases, not all diseases have data. There is data for: Arboviral Encephalitides; Campylobacteriosis; Creutzfeldt Jakob Disease; Escherichia coli; Influenza; Rabies; and West Nile.

Preventable Hospitalizations
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County and state level
Dates of coverage: 2005

Preventable Hospitalizations
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County and state level
Dates of coverage: 2002

Preventable Hospitalizations
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County and state level
Dates of coverage: 2001

Includes: Map showing number of admissions by county and a table providing actual data.

Other Information: See also Hospitalizations in Texas, 2001 for additional information.

Tuberculosis Statistics
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County, Border Region, Health Service Area, State
Dates of coverage: 2001 to 2006

 

Tuberculosis Surveillance
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Geographic coverage: Texas Metropolitan Statistical Areas and selected cities
Dates of coverage: 1953 to 2001

Select: Tables 38 through 43 for TB morbidity by MSA and selected cities.

US-Mexico Border Environmental Health Initiative Produced by: US Geological Survey Geographic coverage: Brooks, Cameron, Hidalgo, Jim Hogg, Kenedy, Starr, Willacy, and Zapata Counties Dates of coverage: 1992 to 2002

Includes: Campylobacteriosis, Hepatitis A, Hepatitis B, Hepatitis C, Hepatitis Unspecified, Salmonellosis, and Shigellosis.

Texas Viral Hepatitis from VitalWeb
Produced by: Expert Health Data Programming
Geographic coverage: County level
Dates of coverage: 1992 to 1999

Select: Standard Interface for one page search tool; Wizard Interface for multi-page search tool.

Includes: Morbidity for all forms of viral hepatitis.

Other Information: Interactive database; report variables include gender, race/ethnicity, or age as well as by type of hepatitis and year.

Perinatal Hepatitis B
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County level
Dates of coverage: 2001 to 2009

Includes: Number of infants who have been identified that were born to women who were HBsAg-positive; number of infants receiving Hepatitis B prevention services; and number household contacts and sexual partners of HBsAg-positive women who received Hepatitis B prevention services.

STI Mortality

Texas Data from VitalWeb
Produced by: Expert Health Data Programming
Geographic coverage: County level

Texas Viral Hepatitis Deaths [ICD-9]
Dates of coverage: 1980 to 1998


Viral Hepatitis Deaths [ICD-10]
Dates of coverage: 1999 to 2000

Select: Standard Interface for one page search tool; Wizard Interface for multi-page search tool.

Includes: Mortality for all forms of viral hepatitis.

Other Information: Interactive database; report variables include gender, race/ethnicity, or age as well as by type of hepatitis and year.

Weekly Mortality Data from the MMWR
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Geographic coverage: City and regional level
Dates of coverage: 1996 to present

Includes:Shows a weekly tally of deaths for all causes by age breakouts for Austin, Corpus Christi, Dallas, El Paso, Ft. Worth, Houston, and San Antonio.

Other Information: These are data from the CDC 122 Cities Mortality Reporting System as printed in Table III of  the MMWR each week.

Subject Guide

Angel Hooper's picture
Angel Hooper
Contact:
713-500-9124