Skip to main content
site header image

CHARTing Health Information: Mortality Data

This Web site has been designed to provide a comprehensive collection of links to publicly available health and health determinants data. While the emphasis is on the state of Texas, there are links to sites that cover all of the U.S.

Key to the Texas symbol

This symbol indicates that the resource provides data only for Texas.

If there is no symbol, the resource provides data for all US states including Texas.

Mortality Data Resources

Underlying Cause of Death (CDC Wonder)
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Geographic coverage: County level

Includes: Mortality from underlying cause of death, i.e. single cause of death.

Other Information: Interactive database; mortality and population counts for all U.S. counties for the years listed. Report variables include underlying cause of death, state, county, age, race, sex, and year.

Mortality [ICD-10]
Dates of coverage: 1999 to most current available

Mortality [ICD-9]
Dates of coverage: 1979 to 1998

Mortality [ICD-8]
Dates of coverage: 1968 to 1978

Multiple Cause of Death (CDC Wonder)
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Geographic coverage: County level

Includes: Mortality from multiple causes of death. Data by race, not ethnicity (i.e. Hispanics not counted separately)

Other Information: Interactive database; report variables include gender, county, or age as well as by disease and year; age-adjusted standards for 1940, 1970, and 2000.

Mortality [ICD-10]
Dates of coverage: 1999 to  most current available

Mortality [ICD-10]
Dates of coverage: 1994 to 2004  

Death Data (Texas Health Data) 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County level

Includes: Mortality from underlying cause of death

Other Information: Interactive database and map; report variables include gender, race/ethnicity, or age as well as by disease and year; age-adjusted standards include 1940, 1970, and 2000.

Deaths of TX Residents [ICD-10]
Dates of coverage: 1999 to most current available

Deaths of TX Residents [ICD-9]
Dates of coverage: 1990 to 1998

Death Maps [ICD-9]
Dates of coverage: 1990 to 1998

Infant Deaths
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Geographic coverage: County level

Includes: Mortality from underlying cause of death

Other Information: Counts and rates for deaths of children under 1 year of age, occurring within the United States to U.S. residents. Information from death certificates has been linked to corresponding birth certificates. Report variables include: county of mother's residence, child's age, underlying cause of death, gender, birth weight, birth plurality, birth order, gestational age at birth, period of prenatal care, maternal race and ethnicity, maternal age, maternal education and marital status.

Linked birth & infant death records [ICD-10]
Dates of coverage: 2007 to 2008 

Linked birth & infant death records [ICD-10]
Dates of coverage: 2003 to 2006

Linked birth & infant death records [ICD-10]
Dates of coverage: 1999 to 2002

Linked birth & infant death records [ICD-9]
Dates of coverage: 1995 to 1998

Texas Data from VitalWeb 
Produced by: Expert Health Data Programming
Geographic coverage: County level

Includes: Mortality from underlying cause of death.

Other Information: Interactive database; report variables include gender, race/ethnicity, or age as well as by disease and year.

Texas ICD-10 Deaths
Dates of coverage: 1999 to most current available

Texas ICD-9 Underlying Cause of Death
Dates of coverage: 1980 to 1998

Texas Multiple Cause of Death [ICD-10]
Dates of coverage: 1999 to 2007

Texas Multiple Cause of Death [ICD-9]
Dates of coverage: 1995 to 1998

Vital Statistics Annual Reports (Texas Health Data)
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: Mostly State level; some County level
Dates of coverage: 2001 - 2008, 2010 (Complete); 2009 & 2011 (Partial)

2011 Report (Incomplete)

2010 Report: Death tables

2009 Report (Partial/Preliminary): Death tables

2008 Report: Death tables

2007 Report: Death tables

2006 Report: Death tables

2005 Report: Death tables

2004 Report: Death tables

2003 Report: Death tables

2002 Report: Death tables

2001 Report: Death tables

Indicators of Inpatient Care in Texas Hospitals 2010  
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: Hospital level
Dates of coverage: 2010

Includes: Mortality indicators report the percentage of patients who died at a hospital after undergoing a specific type of surgery; covers: stroke, heart attack, hip fracture and hip replacement, esophageal resection, pancreatic resection, craniotomy, coronary angioplasty (PTCA), pediatric hear surgery, and abdominal aortic aneurysm (AAA) repair.

State Inpatient Database from HCUP
Produced by: US Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
Geographic coverage: State level
Dates of coverage: 2007 to 1-2 years ago

Select: Choose the State Statistics on All Stays for TX data, then select Researcher, Medical Professional. Choose the year, then select Statistics on All Hospital Stays or Trends for data on how many patients died in the hospital.

Other Information: See the description of the State Inpatient Database to learn more about data elements in the SID as well as how the SID can be used.