Skip to main content
site header image

CHARTing Health Information: Health Insurance, CHIP, Medicaid, Medicare

This Web site has been designed to provide a comprehensive collection of links to publicly available health and health determinants data. While the emphasis is on the state of Texas, there are links to sites that cover all of the U.S.

Uninsured/Insured/Medicaid/CHIP data

The Uninsured in Texas  
Produced by: TX Medical Association
Geographic coverage: National, state, County level
Dates of coverage: current

 

Texas Medicaid and CHIP Enrollment Statistics 
Produced by: TX Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: State level, county level
Dates of coverage: varies

HCUPnet Hospitalizations
Produced by: US Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
Geographic coverage: State level, National level
Dates of coverage: 1993 to 1-2 years ago

You can view statistics by specific diagnoses but you will need to know the ICD-9-CM codes: 630-679 (Complications of pregnancy, childbirth, and the puerperium); 740-749 (Congenital anomalies); and 760-779 (Certain conditions originating in the perinatal period)). HCUP wants a 4-digit code. If you want all examples of complications of pregnancy, enter: 6300-6379, then specify you want the diagnoses listed separately.

For broad classifications, consider looking at data by CCS categories. There is a listing of the ICD-9 codes that are encompassed by each CCS categories. Childbirth and complications from childbirth can be found in categories 177-196.

See the description of the State Inpatient Database to learn more about data elements in the SID as well as how the SID can be used.

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Research, Statistics, Data & Systems 

‚Äč

 

Find a Federally Qualified Health Centers (U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration; current data)

Health Insurance (US Census Bureau; State level)

Federal Aid to States (US Census Bureau, 2005; State level; PDF)

A Vision for Change: Policy Solutions for Increasing Health Coverage in Texas (Texas Health institute, 2007, PDF)
" Texas Health Institute undertook a study to develop feasible public policy solutions
that, when combined together, could cut the number of Texans without health
coverage almost in half. Using the most recent estimates of uninsured per county,
the study also examines the corresponding economic and fiscal impact of increasing
the number of Texans with health coverage. The report, “A Vision for Change: Policy
Solutions for Increasing Health Coverage in Texas”, provides policymakers and stake-
holders at all levels a selection of cost-effective and workable policy solutions
to deploy when solving the issue facing more than 5.6 million Texans."

Code Red: The Critical Condition of Health in Texas (Task Force on Access to Health Care in Texas)
"Texas faces an impending crisis regarding the health of its population, which will profoundly influence the state’s competitive position nationally and globally... In the state, 25.1 percent of the population is without health insurance, the highest in the nation and growing. The increasing discrepancy between growing health needs and access to affordable health insurance coverage creates the conditions for a “perfect storm.”
In view of these serious challenges, ten academic health institutions created a Task Force on these issues. Task Force members also included small and large business employees, health care providers, insurers and consumers....."

A Vision for Change: Policy Solutions for Increasing Health Coverage in Texas (Texas Health Institute, 2007)

Disparities in Health Insurance and Access to Care for Residents Across U.S. Cities (UCLA Center for Health Policy Research; 2000)
"U.S. metropolitan areas are characterized by pronounced disparities in rates of health insurance coverage and access to care. While it has been well documented that people with lower incomes run a greater risk of being uninsured than those with higher incomes, this study also finds a strong relationship between a city’s rate of employer-sponsored health coverage and its overall rates of health coverage and access to care."

Uninsured Data (St. Luke's Episcopal Health Charities)
Maps and reports can be generated to show data by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and poverty status.

Hospital Compare (US Health & Human Services; October 2005 through September 2006; hospital level data)
"This website was created through the efforts of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) along with the Hospital Quality Alliance (HQA). The HQA is a public-private collaboration established to promote reporting on hospital quality of care....." Includes data on Surgical Infection Prevention, Heart Attack, Heart Failure, and Pneumonia.

Why not the Best? (The Commonwealth Fund)

The Leapfrog Group
Compare hospitals for patient safety and safety of selected procedures. The Leapfrog Group is a voluntary program aimed at mobilizing employer purchasing power to alert America’s health industry that big leaps in health care safety, quality and customer value will be recognized and rewarded.

HealthGrades (HealthGrades)
Find doctor, hospital, and nursing home ratings.

Quality Check (Joint Commission)
The Joint Commission has had a longstanding commitment to providing meaningful information about the comparative performance of accredited organizations to the public. In 1994, The Joint Commission first published organization-specific Performance Reports. In 1996, Quality Check®, a directory of Joint Commission accredited organizations and performance reports, became available on the website.

Indicators of Inpatient Care in Texas Hospitals, 2004 (Texas Department of State Health Services; hospital level data)
Indicators of Inpatient Care in Texas Hospitals, 2003 (Texas Department of State Health Services; hospital level data)
Learn more about the performance of your hospital with these reports.

The Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care (Dartmouth (US) Medical School; dates vary but most current is 2003; hospital level data)

  • Data By Region
  • Data by Hospital
  • Data by Topic
  • Tools
    Includes: Downloads, Benchmarking, Hospital Care Intensity, Case Studies, a Glossary, and FAQ.
  • Key Issues
    Includes: Medicare Spending, Supply-Sensitive Care, Preference-Sensitive Care, Effective Care, Physician Workforce, End-of-Life Care, Racial Disparities, Accountable Care, Reflections on Variations, and International
  • Publications
    Includes: Atlases & Reports, and Research Articles

Reports on HMO Performance by Region (Texas Health Care Information Council; 1998 to 2004; regional level data)
Learn more about the performance of your HMO with these reports.

Supply & Distribution of Health Professionals in Texas (TX Department of State Health Services; 2008)
The tables found here INCLUDE ONLY persons who are licensed with their Texas board and are actively working in their profession. Retired, inactive, or working out-of-state professionals are not included.

Health Professional Shortage Areas Database (U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration; current data; Census tract and county level data)
This database has the most current data containing information on those areas that are designated as having a health professional shortage. Data is listed by date of HPSA designation. The TDSHS reports (below) provide basic data for the entire county; this tool provides data for Census tracts where appropriate. Shortages of three professions are recognized by this program: primary medical care M.D.s and D.O.s, dentists, mental health professionals. Generally, there are three major components of the federal HPSA criteria: 1) Rational service area; 2) Population-to-physician ratio; and 3) Accessibility of populations to primary care resources in surrounding areas.

MUA/MUP (Medically Underserved Areas & Medically Underserved Populations) Database (US Health Resources & Services Administration; Census tract level)
Medically Underserved status is designated to areas or populations having a shortage of personal health services according to U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' rules.

  • Areas (MUAs). Eligibility for designation as an MUA is based on the demographics of the entire population in an area compared to national statistics for four health care demand/resource indicators:
    • Percentage of elderly population (over 65 years)
    • Poverty rate
    • Infant mortality rate
    • Ratio of primary care physicians per 1,000 population
    • These four indicators are converted to weighted values. The sum of the four weighted values equals the Index of Medical Underservice (IMU) score. Areas with IMU scores equal to or less than the national average IMU (62.0) are designated as underserved.
  • Populations (MUPs). MUP IMU scores are calculated in the same manner as for MUAs. However, the specific population for whom the MUP is calculated represents only a portion of the area's entire population. These specific populations encounter barriers to primary care access. The barriers may be economic (e.g., low income or Medicaid-eligible populations, low income population) or sociologic (cultural, linguistic)

Health Professions Resource Center (HPRC) (Texas Department of State Health Services)

Indigent Health Care Spending Data (Texas Department of State Health Services; 2000 - 2004; some county level data)

Back to the top

Last updated 3/1/2017

 

Subject Guide

Angel Hooper's picture
Angel Hooper
Contact:
713-500-9124