Features the following kinds of tools to assist active living researchers:
- observational tools to assess the environment
- observational tools to assess physical activity
- surveys to assess perceptions of the environment
Collected by the U.S Census Bureau. The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing survey that provides data every year. Survey samples the U.S population on topics such as age, sex, race, family, income, health insurance, education, disabilities, commuting, housing and more.
This site explains the use of Health Impact Assessment (HIA), which "is a process that helps evaluate the potential health effects of a plan, project or policy before it is built or implemented." This site explains the major steps in conducting an HIA and links to HIAs completed or in progress in the United States.
A set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.
"An interactive mapping, networking, and learning utility for the broad-based healthy, sustainable, and livable communities’ movement." Community Commons is an initiative of Advancing the Movement (ATM) "a distributed network of leaders from communities, philanthropy, government agencies, and the private, academic, voluntary and civic sectors".
“The Global GoTo Think Tank Index is the result of an international survey of over 1,950 scholars, public and private donors, policy makers, and journalists who helped rank more than 6,500 think tanks using a set of 18 criteria developed by the TTCSP.” Report includes the “Top Health Policy Think Tanks” and “Top Social Policy Think Tanks”
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill is an innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 75 medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device. Updated frequently and expanded continuously by world-renowned physicians, AccessMedicine provides fast, direct access to the information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review..
Log in using Open Athens by Texas Medical Center Library
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the standard, essential comprehensive index to nursing articles, containing cover-to-cover current full text of more than 400 of the top journals it indexes. It covers alternative and occupational therapy as well. CINAHL also includes some e-books and short monographs, as well as providing more than half a million historical full-text articles dating back to 1937. CINAHL uses a controlled subject vocabulary for better search results. Evidence-based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons, and Continuing Education Units augment the student experience. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Dedicated to conducting economic research and to disseminating research findings among academics, public policy makers, and business professionals. Key focus areas include developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, and analyzing the effects of public policies.
Links over 175K pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.