CHARTing Health Information

Kids Count Data Center Health Outcomes
Produced by: Center for Public Policy Priorities
Geographic coverage: County level
Dates of coverage: Varies

• Texas State Health Outcomes Indicators
• Texas County Health Outcomes Indicators
• Texas City Health Outcomes Indicators
• Texas Congressional District Health Outcomes Indicators (109th-112th Congresses)
• Texas Congressional District Health Outcomes Indicators (113th Congress)

Includes: Total teen births; Teen births to women who were already mothers; Births to females less than 20 years of age; Teen mothers ages 15 to 19; Teen births by age group;  Births to mothers with less than 12 years of education; Teen births by race

Vital Statistics Annual Reports
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County level
Dates of coverage: 2001 - 2010

Geographic coverage: State level data Dates of coverage: 2001 - 2006

• 2012 Report: in progress
• 2011 Report
• Births: Narrative
• Data: See Table 11. Births to mothers 17 and under
• Figures and Maps
• 2010 Report
• Births: Narrative
• Data: See Table 11. Births to mothers 17 and under
• Figures and Maps
• 2009 Report
• Births: Narrative
• Data: See Table 11. Births to mothers 17 and under
• Figures and Maps
• 2008 Report
• Births: Narrative
• Data: See Table 11. Births to mothers 17 and under
• Figures and Maps
• 2007 Report
• Births: Narrative
• Data: See Table 11. Births to mothers 17 and under
• Figures and Maps
• 2006 Report
• Births: Narrative
• Data: See Table 11. Births to mothers 17 and under
• Figures and Maps
• 2005 Report
• Births: Narrative
• Data: See Table 11. Births to mothers 17 and under
• Figures and Maps
• 2004 Report
• Births: Narrative
• Data: See Table 11. Births to mothers 17 and under
• Figures and Maps
• 2003 Report
• Births: Narrative
• Data: See Table 11. Births to mothers 17 and under
• Figures and Maps
• 2002 Report
• Births: Narrative
• Data: See Table 11. Births to mothers 17 and under
• Figures and Maps (scroll down to view)
• 2001 Report
• Births: Narrative
• Data: See Table 11. Births to mothers 17 and under
• Figures and Maps

The Vital Statistics Annual Reports include both narrative text and data tables. Be sure you take a look at both components (if they are available) and not just the raw data.  The narrative provides a context for the data and highlights trends-- something the tables don't do.

The tables provide data by region and county and by race/ethnicity.

Figures and maps provide data by county.