Global health is the health of the populations in the worldwide context; it has been defined as "the area of study, research, and practice that places a priority on improving health and achieving equity in health for all people worldwide."
1000+ textbooks, 500+ journals, practice guidelines, drug info, and 5,000+ patient handouts in English and Spanish. Also includes First Consult, Procedures Consult, over 13,000 videos and millions of images. You can filter your search results by clinically meaningful subcategories (content type, specialty, disease, and more). Register for a free personal account to access all site features (like downloading e-Book PDFs).
Log in using Open Athens by Texas Medical Center Library
Sections of this CDC resource, developed and maintained by CDC’s Division of Parasitic Diseases and Malaria (DPDM), include: Parasites and Parasitic Diseases/Parasites and Health; Diagnostic Procedures; Diagnostic Assistance; a section on training materials and announcements; and the Parasite Image Library. Includes information of interest to consumers as well as health professionals. Most images and material are in the public domain; to re-use, simply cite the source. A few images do require permissions to re-publish. Researchers may also contribute images to the database by contacting the DPDx team- see About DPDx for information. Includes instructions for specimen collection and shipping to CDC, under Diagnostic Procedures.
The SCOPUS database contains millions of records from 11,700+ life and health sciences publications (including all journals indexed for Medline and EMBASE) and covers most sciences and humanities fields-- total coverage, 22,800+ journal titles. SCOPUS also indexes over 8,000,000 conference papers. Searching also pulls in relevant Web resources, organized under a separate tab. Another tab separates patent results from patent offices in the US and worldwide. SCOPUS provides a Journal Analyzer tool that graphs journals, singly or for comparison, from 1996 to present, showing total citations, number of articles published, total cites divided by number of articles, and the percentage of non-cited articles. Affiliation searching is also provided. A free login for authorized users provides additional advantages: a personal profile for saving citation lists and tracking authors; a publication alert service; and direct export to RefWorks. For SCOPUS tutorials, click here. NOTE: Scopus indexes only primary documents; this does not include book reviews and obituaries.
TMC Library Resource.. Access to this database will cease December 2020.
(TOXicology Data NETwork) is a group of databases covering chemicals and drugs, diseases and the environment, environmental health, occupational safety and health, poisoning, risk assessment and regulations, and toxicology. It is managed by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) in the Division of Specialized Information Services (SIS) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). A mobile version of TOXNET is available.
An international index to African health literature and information sources.
Internet Resources
Infectious Disease Society of America:A community of over 11,000 physicians, scientists and public health experts who specialize in infectious diseases. Their purpose is to improve the health of individuals, communities, and society by promoting excellence in patient care, education, research, public health, and prevention relating to infectious diseases.
National Foundation for Infectious Diseases: A non-profit organization dedicated to educating the public and healthcare professionals about the burden, causes, prevention, and treatment of infectious diseases across the lifespan.
The mission of the Office of Infectious Diseases (OID) is to lead, promote, and facilitate science, programs, and policies to reduce the burden of infectious diseases in the United States and globally
The World Health Organization defines Infectious Disease as "caused by pathogenic microorganisms, such as bacteria, viruses, parasites or fungi; the diseases can be spread, directly or indirectly, from one person to another.
This interactive map visually plots global outbreaks of measles, mumps, whooping cough, polio, rubella, and other diseases that are easily preventable by inexpensive and effective vaccines. The Global Health Program at the Council on Foreign Relations has been tracking news reports on these outbreaks since the fall of 2008.
This link opens in a new window
Emerging Issues and Controversies in Infectious Disease by 
Global Management of Infectious Disease after Ebola by 
