The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The main objective is to increase the visibility and usability of this important set of resources. The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries on a central search platform allowing retrieval of bibliographical and full text information.
CancerMondail: From WHO's International Agency for Research on Cancer, the website provides access to various databases containing statistics and other information on the occurrence of cancer worldwide.
CDC Sate Health Statistics : Search morbidity (disability or poor health) and mortality tables for selected diseases.
Demographic & Health (DHS) Surveys by Country : DHS surveys on health and population in developing countries. NOTE: not every country included here.
Dengue Map : Online tool from CDC, in collaboration with HealthMap, for displaying global dengue activity.
Design for Health : To accelerate the use of design in addressing global health challenges, the Gates Foundation and USAID’s Center for Innovation and Impact (CII) have partnered to develop resources to support the understanding, appropriate use, and effectiveness of design in global health.
Ebola Outbreak in West Africa — Outbreak Distribution Map : From the CDC
GBD Results Tool: Allow users to query, view, and download, in CSV format, the following: Data input sources, Model input data and Estimates (final GBD results: the point estimates and 95% uncertainty intervals, where appropriate, for study indicators).
Global Burden of Disease: US County Profiles : Snapshot of disease incidence and prevalence in U.S. counties.
Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation: GBD : Interactive data visualizations using GBD data.
LILACS (Latin American & Carribean Literature for the Health Sciences) : Database of health sciences literature published in Latin American & Caribbean countries since 1982. Covers 670 of the most well-known biomedical journals and other documents, including theses, books, books chapters, conference proceedings, technical and scientific reports and governmental publications.
World Bank Data : Can search by country, topic (e.g. health), or indicator (e.g. mortality rate). All World Bank data is now freely available on the site.
WHO Global Health Estimates : Comprehensive and comparable assessment of mortality and loss of health due to diseases and injuries for all regions of the world.
WHO Global Infobase: Information on chronic diseases and their risk factors for all WHO member states.
WHO Global Observatory : The major World Health Organization database. Can search by theme e.g. "Global Burden of Disease," or by country. Includes maps on selected topics.
WHO DISMOD II is a software tool that may be used to check the consistency of estimates of incidence, prevalence, duration and case fatality for diseases.
WHO Statistical Information Set. Health data on all of the 193 WHO Member States. Covers over 50 core health indicators, organized into six major areas: mortality and burden of disease, health service coverage, risk factors, health system inputs, differentials in health outcome and coverage, as well as basic socio-demographic statistics.
World Health Report: WHO's annual report. 2013 is the latest.
