LibGuides: UTSPH Alumni Services: Home

Licensing Stipulations & REMOTE Access

The UTHealth School of Public Health Library recognizes that many of our alumni wish to continue to use the SPH Library collections and resources after graduation. Almost all of the Libraries' e-journals, e-books, and databases have restrictions on use and access that are specified in the licensing agreements signed by the library and the respective vendors. Off-campus access is restricted to UTHealth SPH faculty, students, and staff. Alumni have not been included as authorized users for remote access.

UTHealth SPH alumni may:

Search the UTHealth SPH online catalog, Primo to locate and check out resources.
Use our "Ask A Librarian " service for assistance.
Use UTHealth SPH Library guides to locate and search free online databases, journals and ebooks.
Come to the campus library to access the e-journals, e-books, and databases using your own laptop or on devices connected to the campus wifi network.
Photocopy, scan, and print resources.

Statistics

CDC Wonder This link opens in a new window
WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available.
Cancer Statistics Center This link opens in a new window
The website offers a new way to explore the data the Society publishes in its annual Cancer Facts & Figures report. The graphically-presented data is useful for cancer control advocates, journalists, public health agencies, policy makers, patients, survivors and the general public.

Free Online Databases

ADOLEC (Literature on Adolescence Health) This link opens in a new window
Virtual Health Library from the Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information (English, Spanish, Portuguese)
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
The NAL Catalog (AGRICOLA) provides citations to agricultural literature. This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 4.8 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window
ClinicalTrials.gov is a Web-based resource that provides patients, their family members, health care professionals, researchers, and the public with easy access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions.
DOE Information Bridge (SciTech Connect) This link opens in a new window
OSTI.GOV makes discoverable over 75 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies. Research results include journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia. OSTI.GOV contains over 3 million records, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, 1 million of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites. OSTI.GOV provides access to this DOE STI by offering numerous easy-to-use search capabilities and customization options; and for the DOE community, additional citation information is available to help researchers evaluate article impact and find related research.
ERIC & ERIC Digests This link opens in a new window
Education Resources Information Center
GPO Catalog of U.S. Government Publications This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Research Gate This link opens in a new window
Find open-access author manuscripts and published articles in Public Health related disciplines.
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Database This link opens in a new window
A clinical search engine for research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

eJrnl & eBook collections that are publicly accessible

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
There are nearly 9,800 open-access journals found through this collection covering a broad range of disciplines.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PMC contains primarily biomedical and life sciences journal literature. All NIH-funded research must now be deposited with PMC so you'll find a great deal of cutting-edge literature as well as older materials.
HighWire Press (Free Journals) This link opens in a new window
Research societies often use Highwire Press for their platform and make their resources freely available after a certain period of time. Unfortunately, there is no standard as to what is free and when it becomes free so it is a little hit or miss. But it doesn't hurt to try!

HINARI Program for Developing Countries
The World Health Organization has set up a program called HINARI for researchers in developing countries that are at national universities, professional schools (medicine, nursing, pharmacy, public health, dentistry), research institutes, teaching hospitals and healthcare centers, government offices and national medical libraries, and local non-governmental organizations. Depending on several factors, access is either free or low-cost.

BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central is a Science, Technology and Medicine (STM) publisher of more than 250 peer-reviewed open access journals. The journals here cover many specialty areas of biology, biomedicine and medicine and include broad interest titles as well. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are freely accessible online upon publication. Other content in a minority of the journals is subscription-based. Articles labelled Open Access are immediately and permanently available online.
Books at NLM This link opens in a new window
This extensive collection includes the evidence-based research reports from AHRQ. In all, there are over 1,300 titles in this collection.