LibGuides: General Database Links & Resources: Home

Try These First

These databases are excellent resources, especially when you are beginning your research.

Ovid- MEDLINE & PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic information for articles from academic journals covering medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care
PubMed This link opens in a new window
References and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics

Databases

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
The NAL Catalog (AGRICOLA) provides citations to agricultural literature. This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 4.8 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
American Hospital Directory This link opens in a new window
retrieve password from here: http://tinyurl.com/8rszs93
Current (American Hospital Directory)
CenterWatch Clinical Trials Listings This link opens in a new window
Source of clinical trials information for both clinical research professionals and patients. In addition to furnishing information about clinical trials to patients and healthcare or research professionals, CenterWatch publishes newsletters, books and directories, and conducts custom research for patients and professionals. CenterWatch presents one set of resources targeted to patients and the general public, and another for medical and pharmaceutical professionals.
CPC Library This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2200 programs in computational physics and chemistry.
DAI- Dissertation Abstracts International (Digital Dissertations) See UTSPH Theses & Dissertations for SPH titles This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses — Full text is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses.
ProQuest Dissertations and These Global This link opens in a new window
Dollars for Docs This link opens in a new window
ProPublica’s Dollars for Docs database contains more than $2 billion in payments to doctors, other medical providers and health care institutions that have been disclosed by 15 pharmaceutical companies since 2009.
ERIC & ERIC Digests This link opens in a new window
Education Resources Information Center
IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new window
A resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.
Index to Chiropractic Literature This link opens in a new window
Instructions for Authors This link opens in a new window
J-STAGE (Japan Science & Technology Information Aggregator, Electronic) Freely Available Titles - English This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Archive Collections This link opens in a new window
Medicine and Madison Avenue This link opens in a new window
Over 600 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
National Academies Press This link opens in a new window
Book publisher of topics in science, engineering, and medicine
New York Times Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
PAO - Periodicals Archive Online (Full Subscription) This link opens in a new window
PrimateLit This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Military & Government Collection, and Regional Business News databases.
Project MUSE - Single Title Subscriptions This link opens in a new window
Digital humanities and social science content
SciVal Funding This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarships, grants, and fellowships from non-profits and governmental agencies.
You must be either on campus or using the VPN if off-site to access this title.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
Ulrich's Periodical Directory Online This link opens in a new window
UTSPH Theses & Dissertations This link opens in a new window
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
CINAHL PLUS (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health) with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the standard, essential comprehensive index to nursing articles, containing cover-to-cover current full text of more than 400 of the top journals it indexes. It covers alternative and occupational therapy as well. CINAHL also includes some e-books and short monographs, as well as providing more than half a million historical full-text articles dating back to 1937. CINAHL uses a controlled subject vocabulary for better search results. Evidence-based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons, and Continuing Education Units augment the student experience. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.