General Public Health: Home

Bibliographic information for articles from academic journals covering medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care

References and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics

Virtual Health Library from the Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information (English, Spanish, Portuguese)

The Adverse Event Reporting System (AERS) is a database that contains information on adverse event and medication error reports submitted to FDA.

Excellent resource for locating articles that review broad topics in a variety of fields.

Biological Abstracts® encompasses the entire field of life sciences and provides comprehensive coverage of the world's published biological and biomedical research.

BioMed Central is a Science, Technology and Medicine (STM) publisher of more than 250 peer-reviewed open access journals. The journals here cover many specialty areas of biology, biomedicine and medicine and include broad interest titles as well. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are freely accessible online upon publication. Other content in a minority of the journals is subscription-based. Articles labelled Open Access are immediately and permanently available online.

TMC Library resource;

The Canada Vigilance Adverse Reaction Online Database contains information about suspected adverse reactions (also known as side effects) to health products.

The Canary Database is a compilation of curated peer-reviewed research articles related to the use of animals as sentinels of human health hazards

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the standard, essential comprehensive index to nursing articles, containing cover-to-cover current full text of more than 400 of the top journals it indexes. It covers alternative and occupational therapy as well. CINAHL also includes some e-books and short monographs, as well as providing more than half a million historical full-text articles dating back to 1937. CINAHL uses a controlled subject vocabulary for better search results. Evidence-based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons, and Continuing Education Units augment the student experience. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

"...includes details of published articles taken from bibliographic databases (notably MEDLINE and EMBASE), and other published and unpublished sources. CENTRAL records include the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details) and, in many cases, a summary of the article. They do not contain the full text of the article."

Browse just Cochrane reviews, not reviews published elsewhere.

Everyday consumer of health care information.

ISRCTN is a registry and curated database containing the basic set of data items deemed essential to describe a study at inception, as per the requirements set out by the World Health Organization (WHO) International Clinical Trials Registry Platform (ICTRP) and the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) guidelines. All study records in the database are freely accessible and searchable and have been assigned an ISRCTN ID. The Terms and Conditions enable anyone to cite with attribution the details in each study record, and encourage unrestricted use of all metadata generated during the process of registration, updating or reporting.

Delta Omega Classics are important texts, which have been deemed public health classics by the national council. They are generally out of print, or not widely available in libraries.

This collection contains bibliographic citations for resources that cover ethical issues related to human genetics including research, biobanks, etc.

Consumer health information provided by the National Library of Medicine.

TMC Library resource; Evidence based information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.

Resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines

PolicyMap is an online data and mapping tool that lets you create maps covering Demographics, Incomes & Spending, Housing, Lending, Quality of Life, Economy, Education, and Health.