Databases and Resources by Subject Area or Discipline: Community Health

• Active Living Research - Tools & Measures

  Features the following kinds of tools to assist active living researchers:
  - observational tools to assess the environment
  - observational tools to assess physical activity
  - surveys to assess perceptions of the environment
• American Community Survey (ACS) via the American FactFinder

  Collected by the U.S Census Bureau. The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing survey that provides data every year. Survey samples the U.S population on topics such as age, sex, race, family, income, health insurance, education, disabilities, commuting, housing and more.
• Community Toolbox

  Produced by the U. of Kansas' Work Group for Community Health and Development, this site provides links and resources for designing and evaluating programs.
• The Community Guide

  Created by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control & Prevention, "The Community Guide" promotes interventions with demonstrated effectiveness.
• Health Impact Assessment

  This site explains the use of Health Impact Assessment (HIA), which "is a process that helps evaluate the potential health effects of a plan, project or policy before it is built or implemented." This site explains the major steps in conducting an HIA and links to HIAs completed or in progress in the United States.
• Healthy People 2020 Evidence-Based Resources

  Database of evidence-based literature regarding Healthy People 2020 objectives and interventions.
• Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)

  A set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.

• Community Commons

  "An interactive mapping, networking, and learning utility for the broad-based healthy, sustainable, and livable communities’ movement." Community Commons is an initiative of Advancing the Movement (ATM) "a distributed network of leaders from communities, philanthropy, government agencies, and the private, academic, voluntary and civic sectors".
• Community Toolbox

  Produced by the U. of Kansas' Work Group for Community Health and Development, this site provides links and resources for designing and evaluating programs.
• Global Go to Think Tanks Index Report

  “The Global GoTo Think Tank Index is the result of an international survey of over 1,950 scholars, public and private donors, policy makers, and journalists who helped rank more than 6,500 think tanks using a set of 18 criteria developed by the TTCSP.” Report includes the “Top Health Policy Think Tanks” and “Top Social Policy Think Tanks”
• The Grey Literature Report

  Compiled by the New York Academy of Arts & Sciences, this site alerts readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics.
• Kaiser Family Foundation

  This resource contains the latest state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation.

These databases are excellent resources, especially when you are beginning your research.

Be Legendary – Using Intervention Mapping and Participatory Strategies to Develop a Multi-Component Teen Pregnancy Prevention Intervention for Older Teen Males of Color
Authors: Kimberly Johnson, Christine Markham, Rianne Smith, Susan R. Tortolero
Publication: Journal of Applied Research on Children: Informing Policy for Children at Risk

Community Mobilization: A Community-Wide Approach to Promoting Adolescent Sexual Health
Authors: Sam E. Greenberg, Laura Davis, Cheryl Tutt MSW, Tonya Katcher MD, MPH
Publication: Journal of Applied Research on Children: Informing Policy for Children at Risk

Stigma and the Reluctance to Address Mental Health Issues in Minority Communities
Author: Gary L. Kreps
Publication: Journal of Family Strengths

“It Takes a (Healthy) Village to Raise a Child:” A Case for Integrating Public Health and Social Work Research to Eliminate Health Disparities
Author: Heather H. Goltz
Publication: Journal of Family Strengths