Skip to Main Content 
Students
Student Services
- Librarians provide consultation services for students working on systematic or scoping reviews
- Service includes an initial one-hour consultation session
- Provides overview of the scoping and systematic review (SR) process
- Informs student of SR standards (IOM, PRISMA, Cochrane)
- Offers general guidance on the best databases to search for research question
- Provides a general overview of the translation and deduplication process
- Offers helpful tutorial recommendations for students to reference
- Provides additional meetings, if necessary
- Students can request assistance with review assignments by filling out a consultation request form
Faculty/Staff
Basic Service
- Provide overview of the systematic review (SR) process
- Inform researcher of SR standards (IOM, PRISMA, Cochrane)
- Assist researcher with formulating the research question
- Suggest databases for searching
- 1 meeting required
Full Service
- Provide overview of the systematic review (SR) process
- Inform researcher of SR standards (IOM, PRISMA, Cochrane)
- Assist researcher with formulating the research question
- Suggest databases for searching
- Design the main search strategy
- Translate the search across multiple databases
- Conduct the search in multiple databases
- De-duplicate and merge the citations
- Deliver citations in preferred citation management software (EndNote, RefWorks, etc)
- Provide basic guidance on screening process
- Provide researcher with several documents to include in publication (partially completed PRISMA flowchart, Citation Data Tracking, and search strategies)
- Assist in writing Methods section for publication
- Instruct how to obtain full text of articles through ILL if necessary
- Run update of searches prior to publication (as required by standards)
- At least 5 meetings required (once a month recommended)
- Librarian listed as contributing author is required for this option (ICMJE)
Library Tiered Services Chart
