Open Access (OA) & Scholarly Publishing

In journal publishing, a key consideration is the "impact" of the journal, which refers to its recognition and reputation within the scholarly community. This impact can be measured using various metrics, with the most common being citation counts (both journal and author), journal impact factor, and author h-index. Below is a list of databases and search engines that can help you evaluate journals. Remember, each resource has its strengths and limitations. For instance, some databases might include duplicate entries in their citation counts.

• American Association of University Presses (AAUP) has a list of member university presses. By visiting particular publishers' websites, you can find these catalogs and see precisely what the press is publishing in your discipline.
• Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE): A group of members, primarily editors, but also publishers, universities and research institutes, and related organizations and individuals involved in publication ethics. After a review of the organization's application and publishing practices, COPE may add to their membership a "journal, publisher, organization, university or research institute [which] intends to follow the highest standards of publication ethics and to apply COPE principles of publication ethics outlined in the Core Practices."
• DOAJ's mission is to increase the visibility, accessibility, reputation, usage, and impact of quality, peer-reviewed, open-access scholarly research journals globally, regardless of discipline, geography, or language. Their Best Practice Guide provides a list of resources to help identify questionable publishers, based on guidelines for editors working with applications to DOAJ, It also highlights the issue of questionable publishing practices and Identifies other tools that assist in making informed decisions on where to submit articles for publication.
• Eigenfactor.org: The Eigenfactor project began as an effort to quantify the value provided by academic journals. The organization offers information regarding journal rankings and even the cost-effectiveness of journal subscriptions. Their plug-in color-codes search results from Pubmed searchers according to the Article Influence of the journal in which they appear.
• Google Scholar Metrics provide an easy way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications. Scholar Metrics summarize recent citations to many publications, to help authors as they consider where to publish their new research.
  Select a subcategory in Health and Medicine to rank journals in your field
• International Association of STM (Scientific, Technical and Medical) Publishers: Members publish over 60% of all journal articles and are expected to follow high professional and ethical standards.
• IEEE publication recommender: Find the best match for your scholarly article and search 200+ periodicals and 2000+ conferences.
• Journal Citation Reports is a subscription resource that can be used to compare journals' characteristics including Journal Impact Factor, Article Influence Score, and Total Cites. Learn more about Journal Citation Reports 
• Journals Removed from the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Titles that were removed from DOAJ after changing the criteria for inclusion.

• National Library of Medicine (NLM) Catalog: provides access to NLM bibliographic data for journals, books, audiovisuals, computer software, electronic resources, and other materials.

• Nexis Uni: LexisNexis Academic can be used to search for financial information on companies and some scholarly organizations. (You will need to create an account through the SPH Library.) 

• Retraction Watch: Freely accessible databases designed by The Center for Scientific Integrity, dedicated to the promotion of transparency and integrity in science and scientific publishing, and to disseminating best practices and increasing efficiency in science.

• SCImago is a free resource that uses citation data from Scopus to provide journal impact data.  It provides journal rankings by journal country of origin and numerous visual representations of journal impact data. Learn more about SCImago.

• Scopus CiteScore provides citation impact for journals, book series, conference proceedings and trade journals. 

• Web of Science: The Web of Science is a database on the Web of Knowledge platform that integrates multiple citation indexes.

• WorldCat: WorldCat can be used to locate books, maps, and other resources owned by libraries throughout the World. If SPH does not own the item, it can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

• Web of Science Core Collection

  Web of Science offers an "Analyze Results" option to help identify journals from a topic search. To use this tool, perform a topic search (see Web of Science searching guide), then click on Analyze Results on the upper right hand part of the search screen. From there, choose Publication Titles from the drop down menu. The most common journals in the results will be listed.

• Browzine
  Browzine includes peer-reviewed journals across multiple disciplines. Use the navigation options to find journals in your specific field or search by subject.

• Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE)

  JANE is a tool that mines text placed in the search box to find journals on the topic. Simply place your abstract or another piece of text into the search box, and the tool does the work for you. More information is available on their FAQ page at http://jane.biosemantics.org/faq.php.

• Instructions to Authors in the Health Sciences

  Links to the instructions for authors' pages of more than 6000 health and life sciences journals. This site is maintained by staff at The University of Toledo's Mulford Health Sciences Library.

• Vanderbilt University Medical Center SPI-Hub
  Scholarly publishing information hub. Search for journals that publish articles in your area of interest.

• JournalGuide
  Free journal selection guide. Covers all academic fields, but very strong in biomedicine science.

• EndNote Manuscript Matcher
  If you're using EndNote version 20 or above, use the Manuscript Matcher to find prospective journals.

• Elsevier Journal Finder
• Springer Journal Suggester
• Taylor & Francis Journal Suggester
• Wiley Editing Services (fee-based)