Skip to Main Content

Database Searching: Subject Headings

Medical databases are organized collections of health data, stored electronically and accessible from a computer. Each serves a unique function, yet most are integrated and work together.

What are subject headings?

Subject headings are index terms that are found in bibliographic records that describe what the resource is about. 

Looking for subject headings

 
Are anti-smoking campaigns effective interventions for e-cigarette use among high school students?
Look for subject headings that are equivalent to the concepts. The highlighted concepts above need to be searched for within the correct subject heading lists. Different databases may utilize different subject headings lists. Some databases have their subject heading lists built into their search engines, and others may link out of the main database to search for subject headings. 
                          anti-smoking campaigns e-cigarettes high school students
MeSH

Smoking Prevention

Smoking Cessation

 Electronic Nicotine Delivery Systems

Adolescent

Students

Minors
Emtree

Smoking Prevention 

Smoking Cessation

 Electronic Cigarette  High School Student
CINAHL Smoking Cessation Programs Electronic Cigarettes Students, High School

Where do subject headings come from?

Subject headings are terms that are found within controlled vocabularies, or subject heading lists. Some common subject heading lists used in health and medicinal databases include:

  • Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)
    • Used in PubMed, Medline Ovid, and Cochrane Library
  • Emtree 
    • Used in Embase
  • CINAHL
    • Used in CINAHL

PubMed -- Searching with MeSH