LibGuides: Quantitative & Biostatistical Tutoring Services: Biostatistics

Databases

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Ovid- MEDLINE & PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic information for articles from academic journals covering medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care
PubMed This link opens in a new window
References and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Links over 175K pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
ScienceDirect Journals (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research. Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive. Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

E-Books

Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Preventive Medicine, and Public Health by David L. Katz; Joann G. Elmore; Sean C. Lucan; Dorothea Wild
ISBN: 9781455706563
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Fundamentals of Biostatistics by Bernard Rosner
Call Number: QH 323.5 R674 2016
ISBN: 9781305268920
Publication Date: 2015-08-03
Getting to Know ArcGIS for Desktop by Michael Law; Amy Collins
ISBN: 9781589485785
Publication Date: 2021
Getting to Know ArcGIS Desktop 10.8, sixth edition, is the classic textbook that introduces readers to the features and tools of ArcGIS Desktop, specifically ArcMapTM, the popular professional geographic information system (GIS) application from Esri. Rooted in the science of geography, GIS is a framework for gathering, managing, and analyzing data using map visualizations and location intelligence. GIS and ArcGIS have become essential to thousands of businesses and organizations.Through hands-on exercises, readers get a comprehensive introduction to the features and tools of ArcMap. Discover, use, make, and share maps with meaningful content. Learn how to build geodatabases, query data, analyze geospatial data, and more. Now in its sixth iteration, this edition of Getting to Know ArcGIS Desktop 10.8 has been updated to teach and function with the most current version of the software, ArcGIS Desktop 10.8.x. Data for completing the exercises is available for download.Explore why Getting to Know ArcGIS Desktop 10.8 is a top-selling choice for classroom use, independent study, and as a reference for students and professionals alike.
Probability, Statistics and Modelling in Public Health by Mikhail Nikulin (Editor); Daniel Commenges (Editor); Catherine Huber (Editor)
ISBN: 9780387260235
Publication Date: 2006-02-10
Essentials of Biostatistics in Public Health by Lisa M. Sullivan
ISBN: 9781284108194
Publication Date: 2017-02-28

Repositories

American Statistical Association Index to Publications This link opens in a new window
This indexes only those titles published by the ASA. Be sure to use the SPH Full Text to locate the actual article.
COBRA: Collection of Biostatistics Research Archive This link opens in a new window
Current Index to Statistics This link opens in a new window
The Current Index to Statistics (CIS) is hosted by the AMS. Covers statistics articles and book chapters.
World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window

Open Source Epidemiologic Statistics for Public Health

Websites

Mapping Software

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping tool that lets you create maps covering Demographics, Incomes & Spending, Housing, Lending, Quality of Life, Economy, Education, and Health.

Journals

The UTHealth SPH Library has access to the following statistical journals:

American Statistician: accessible through JSTOR or Taylor and Francis

Applied Statistics: accessible through JSTOR or Wiley- Blackwell Full Collection

Biometrical Journal: accessible through Wiley-Blackwell Full Collection

Biometrics: accessible through JSTOR or Wiley-Blackwell Full Collection

Biostatistics: accessible through Oxford

Computational Statistics & Data Analysis: accessible through Science Direct

Journal of nonparametric statistics: accessible through Taylor and Francis

Lifetime data analysis: accessible through Springerlink

Statistical methods in medical research: accessible through Sage

Quantitative & Biostatistical Tutoring Services: Biostatistics

What is Biostatistics?