Project Planning for the Beginner: Resources for preparing your thesis/dissertation remotely

1. Start with a Topic and identify Key Words for your topic. Choosing proper key words can impact your search results. Key words can be found by looking at your reference lists at the end of articles related to your subject.  Each of the library's databases have preferred key words and subject classifications. Refer to PubMed which uses contains controlled and hierarchically-organized vocabulary terms for medical subject headings (MeSH).. The library offers a variety of databases that may be found on our A to Z Database page. Dont forget, you  also have access to the databases available at TMC Library. 

2. Perform Literature Reviews and Meta-analyses to find out what's already written about your topic. Most databases will allow you to limit your search to these types of sources. See the guide Project Planning for the Beginner. 

3. Review and Categorize your topic. You may find that your topic needs to be refined or even changed. Consult with your advisor to discuss if your topic needs to be broadened or narrowed. 

4. Compile your Citations by creating a Reference List. Part of your thesis requirements is to cite your sources. The library provides access to Refworks, to aid in keeping track of yours references. See the guide Citing Sources and RefWorks Handouts

5. Write a draft. Synthesize your thoughts by presenting your findings and drawing a conclusion from what you have learned about the literature you have searched. See the guide Writing in the Sciences. 

Search for frequently asked questions about thesis and dissertations, using the search term "thesis" or the search term "dissertation".

Email Library Services using this form.

Email Writing Support Services: SPHWritingHub@uth.tmc.edu

Call us: (713) 500-9121

Text us: (713) 965-6968

Visit us: 1200 Pressler St., 1st Floor, RAS E-109, Houston, TX 77030

The SPH Library houses its thesis and dissertations on-site as well as through a subscribed database as well as an openly accessible repository. 

1. Our print and digital thesis and dissertations are searchable through the library's online catalog. 
2. The SPH Library subscribes to Proquest Digital Dissertations and Theses. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT Global) database is the world's most comprehensive collection of multidisciplinary dissertations and theses, featuring 6 million records from more than 70 countries.
3. Thesis and dissertations 2017-present are available through open access in DigitalCommons@TMC. This site is an online repository dedicated to serving as a scholarly resource for member institutions of the Texas. Medical Center . 

Make an appointment with a Library Laision at TMC Library for one-on-one research assistance. Librarians can assist with constructing search terms, subject searches and searching databases. When making the appointment, provide as much detail as possible regarding your topic. 

Using Library resources from off-campus is almost identical to on-campus access, as long as you start from the Library's home page. When you are off-campus, the first time a resource is used, you will be prompted to log in with your UTH email username and password. If an item is not available online:

• The Library can make copies or scans of items we own.
• The Library can get copies of items NOT available in our Library by borrowing from libraries throughout the U.S. There is no charge for this service.
• Library Material Request is the request system for borrowing from other libraries or asking for scanned copies of items we own.

RefWorks is a powerful online research management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies.

Access to RefWorks is available through the TMC Library. They do not offer Alumni access to our library resources. You may convert your institutional Refworks account to an individual subscription. RefWorks Technical Support can provide you with instructions on how to move your database. You can also export your reference data in several formats using one of RefWorks

See Getting Started in RefWorks at the TMC Library. 

Writing Support Services provides writing instruction for all students at all levels of proficiency at all stages of the writing process include the final stage of theses and dissertation preparation. They can assist with the following areas of writing:

• Getting started (e.g., brainstorming, outlining, understanding the assignment)
• Content development (e.g., thesis statement and supporting paragraphs)
• Grammar/sentence structure 
• Punctuation
• Organization (e.g., developing topic sentences, organizing paragraphs)
• Documentation/citing evidence (e.g., AMA or APA style)
• Other (e.g., class requirement, proofreading strategies, research assistance)

Students are required to required to use correct formatting for their final thesis or dissertation. There are two template options: with Journal Article (s) or without Journal Article(s). Students should consult with their  thesis or dissertation committee to decide which template is appropriate. The Template Checklist should be used as a guide to the template. 

The Office of Academic Affairs and Student Services is available to guide you through the theses and dissertations submission process. The Student Research page provides an overview of the process as well as detailed guides relating to thesis and dissertation instructions, forms, approvals, and deadlines. .