Skip to main content
site header image

CHARTing Health Information: Chronic Disease Data

This Web site has been designed to provide a comprehensive collection of links to publicly available health and health determinants data. While the emphasis is on the state of Texas, there are links to sites that cover all of the U.S.

Key to the Texas symbol

This symbol indicates that the resource provides data only for Texas.

If there is no symbol, the resource provides data for all US states including Texas.

See also

See also: Cardiovascular Disease & Stroke
See also: Cancer
See also: Mortality Data for interactive sites to create tables by sex, race/ethnicity, age, and geography.

Chronic Disease Overview

Chronic Disease in Texas Reports & Publications
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County level
Dates of coverage: Varies

Reports & Publications

Preventable Hospitalizations 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County and state level
Dates of coverage: 2008

Preventable Hospitalizations 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County and state level
Dates of coverage: 2005

Preventable Hospitalizations 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County and state level
Dates of coverage: 2002

Preventable Hospitalizations (pdf) 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County and state level
Dates of coverage: 2001

Select: Choose the report covering the chronic disease in which you are interested.

Includes: Map showing number of admissions by county and a table providing actual data.

Other Information: Each report is 8 pages and are pdf documents. See also Hospitalizations in Texas, 2001 for additional state level information.

Texas BRFSS: Texas Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: State, Public Health Region, and MSA (Austin, Dallas, Fort Worth, El Paso, Houston, McAllen, San Antonio), non-MSAs, border counties, non-border counties
Dates of coverage: 2002-2008

Select:

Includes: Sample data for alcohol use, smoking, physical activity, BMI, cancer screening, hypertension knowledge, diabetes diagnosis, cardiovascular disease, immunizations, and much more.

Other Information: MSAs are selected on the basis of having had 500 or more respondents to the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS). Metropolitan statistical areas are a group of counties that contain at least one urbanized area of 50,000 or more inhabitants. Metropolitan divisions are a smaller group of counties within a metropolitan statistical area of 2.5 million or more inhabitants.

SMART: BRFSS City and County Data and Documentation
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Geographic coverage: City & County level

Select: Chronic Disease Indicators

These are data sets only; interactive maps are at the state level.

 

Organ Transplant Lists
Produced by: United Network for Organ Sharting
Geographic coverage: Transplant facility level
Dates of coverage: 1995 to current

Select:

Includes: race/ethnicity, blood type, age, and diagnosis of those on waiting lists or who have registered for organ transplants.

Other Information: Information is specific to the facilities that perform organ transplants.

Indicators of Inpatient Care in Texas Hospitals, 2003 
Produced by: TX Health Care Information Collection
Geographic coverage: Hospital level
Dates of coverage: 2003

Select:

Includes: Carotid Endarterectomy Volume and Mortality; Acute Myocardial Infarction (AMI) Mortality; Congestive Heart Failure (CHF) Mortality; Acute Stroke Mortality; Bilateral Cardiac Catheterization Rate; Pediatric Heart Surgery Volume and Mortality; Carotid Endarterectomy Volume and Mortality

Other Information: These are pdf documents.

Alzheimer's Disease 
Produced by: TX Dept of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: State level
Dates of coverage: n/a

Select: This page has some statistics and the name of a person at the state level to contact for more information.

Includes:

Other Information:

Asthma

Asthma Fact Sheets 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Dates of coverage: 2006

Select:

Includes: Asthma mortality rates 2001-2005.

Other Information: Prevalence data from BRFSS.

Preventable Hospitalizations 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County and state level
Dates of coverage: 2005

Preventable Hospitalizations 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County and state level
Dates of coverage: 2002

Preventable Hospitalizations 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County and state level
Dates of coverage: 2001

Select: Choose the report covering the chronic disease in which you are interested.

Includes: Map showing number of admissions by county and a table providing actual data.

Other Information: Each report is 8 pages and are pdf documents. See also Hospitalizations in Texas, 2001 for additional state level information.

Assessing the Burden of Asthma 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: State level with one table at the county level
Dates of coverage: 1980 to 2002

 

Select:

Includes:

Other Information:

Texas BRFSS: Texas Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: State, Public Health Region, and MSA (Austin, Dallas, Fort Worth, El Paso, Houston, McAllen, San Antonio), non-MSAs, border counties, non-border counties
Dates of coverage: 2002-2008

Select:

Includes: Sample data for asthma diagnosis

Other Information: MSAs are selected on the basis of having had 500 or more respondents to the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS). Metropolitan statistical areas are a group of counties that contain at least one urbanized area of 50,000 or more inhabitants. Metropolitan divisions are a smaller group of counties within a metropolitan statistical area of 2.5 million or more inhabitants.

SMART: BRFSS City and County Data and Documentation
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Geographic coverage: City & County level

Select: Chronic Disease Indicators

These are data sets only; interactive maps are at the state level.

Subject Guide

Angel Hooper's picture
Angel Hooper
~[128]~:
713-500-9124