Skip to main content
site header image

CHARTing Health Information: Employment & Labor

This Web site has been designed to provide a comprehensive collection of links to publicly available health and health determinants data. While the emphasis is on the state of Texas, there are links to sites that cover all of the U.S.

See also...

Additional economic data can be found on the Economic Data page.

Employment & Labor Data

Texas Workforce Commission Data
Geographic coverage: CitycountyMSA, and state level
Dates of coverage: 2005 to current

Find labor market information about the Texas economy and workforce. Use tools to target your business development, explored industry and economic trends and research. 

Quarterly Workforce Indicators
Produced by: US Census Bureau
Geographic coverage: MSA level
Dates of coverage: 2001 to present

Select: Metro area you want to view, the industry you want, and type of ownership. You can also specify age, gender, year, and quarter.

Includes: Statistics on employment, job creation, turnover, and earnings by industry, age and sex.

 

OnTheMap
Produced by: US Census Bureau
Geographic coverage: Local level
Dates of coverage: 2002 to present

Select:

Includes: An online mapping and reporting application showing where workers are employed and where they live with companion reports on worker characteristics and optional filtering by age, earnings, or industry groups.

Other Information:

Industry Focus 
Produced by: US Census Bureau
Geographic coverage: WDA and state level
Dates of coverage: Current data

Select: Choose what information you would like to see on the top industries; select the state you want, then the region.

Includes: Total Employment; Growth in Employment; Growth in hiring; Number of new hires; Jobs added by new and expanding businesses; Average monthly earnings for all workers; Growth in average monthly earnings for all workers; Average monthly earnings for new hires

Other Information: WDA=Workforce Development Area; See the map to find yours; Interactive database

Unemployment Rates
Produced by: US Department of Labor
Geographic coverage: MSA, county, and state level

 

Select: Click on the tab you want (States (seasonally adjusted), States (not seasonally adjusted), Counties, MSAs), select the state you want and select the time period (month, year).

Includes:Unemployment rate and 12 month net change.

Other Information:Interactive database

Salaries
Produced by: Bureau of Labor Statistics
Geographic coverage: Metropolitan Statistical Area level
Dates of coverage: 2003

BLS data on pay and benefits are available for occupations, industries, geographic areas, and the demographic characteristics of workers.

Subject Guide

Angel Hooper's picture
Angel Hooper
Contact:
713-500-9124