CHARTing Health Information

Texas Education Agency Reports & Data Home
Geographic coverage: School and school district level
Dates of coverage: varies by report, generally through 2010 or 2011 and back as far as 1994

• Educator Data
• Financial Reports
  • Public Education Information Management System (PEIMS) Financial Data Downloads
• School District Data
• School Performance
  • Texas Academic Performance Reports (TAPR) (2013 to present)
    • Academic Excellence Indicator System (AEIS) Archive (2003-2012)
  • Accountability Rating System
  • Performance-Based Monitoring
  • Snapshot School District Reports
  • Pocket Edition
• Student Data
  • Advanced Placement/ International Baccalaureate
  • College Admission Tests (ACT/SAT)
  • Completion, Graduation, and Dropouts
  • Enrollment Trends
  • Grade Level Retention
  • Texas Public Education Information Resource (TPEIR)​
  • Discipline Reports
• Division of Accountability Research

Select: 
Academic Excellence Indicator System (AEIS) includes:TAKS results and participation, attendance rates, annual dropout rates, college readiness indicators
Accountability Rating System includes: ratings by district, county, region, school type, charter, AEA, and state. 
PEIMS Reports include: School districts by geography
Standard Student Reports include (by race/ethnicity and down to the school campus): Enrollment, Economically Disadvantaged, and number of graduates
Personnel Reports include: Staff FTE and salary reports and superintendent salary data
Disciplinary Action Reports
Division of Accountability Research includes: Advanced Placement, College placement testing, completion and dropout, enrollment trends, grade-level retention, comprehensive annual reports, and other reports. Reports viewable by gender and race/ethnicity.

Other Information:

College Bound Seniors: A Profile of SAT Program Test Takers
Produced by: CollegeBoard
Geographic coverage: State level
Dates of coverage: 1998 to current

Select: In the menu of the states, select Texas to view the 2006 report. Or select a different year, then select Texas to view the report from that year.

Includes: Percentage and number of students taking the SAT and their scores by high school rank, grade point average, gender, race/ethnicity, courses taken by subject areas, family income, parental education level, size of senior class, type of high school, and location of high school.

Other Information:

Teacher Salaries
Produced by: Bureau of Labor Statistics
Geographic coverage:Metropolitan Statistical Area level
Dates of coverage: Most current

Select: Select the MSA in Texas for which you would like data. Click on 25-0000 Education, Training, and Library Occupations to view a list of the occupations associated with that classification.

Includes: Number of persons estimated to be in that profession, median hourly wage, mean hourly wage, and mean annual wage.

Other Information: Click on the job code for a comparison to national data, other states, and other MSAs.

Common Core of Data
Produced by: National Center for Education Statistics
Geographic coverage: Individual schools level and state level
Dates of coverage: 1993 to present

• Elementary/Secondary Information System (Private & Public)
• Search for Public Schools
• Data Resources
  • Data Files
  • CCD Address Files
  • Data Tables
• Search for Public School Districts
• Public School District Finance Peer Search
• Annual Publications

Select: On the left, choose the link with the data you need. If you are not certain, view the description of the components of the survey.

Includes: Revenues, expenditures on salaries, expenditures on support services, outstanding debt, and more.

Other Information: The Common Core of Data (CCD) is the Department of Education's primary database on public elementary and secondary education in the United States. CCD is a comprehensive, annual, national statistical database of all public elementary and secondary schools and school districts, which contains data that are designed to be comparable across all states.

Public Elementary-Secondary Education Finance Data
Produced by: Census Bureau
Geographic coverage: Individual schools level and state level
Dates of coverage: 1992 to current

Select: In the menu of Years Available, select the year you would like to see. On the next page, select the type of report you want.

Includes: Revenues, expenditures on salaries, expenditures on support services, outstanding debt, and more.

Other Information: These are large files and are in either Excel, SAS, or comma-delineated formate. If you are unfamiliar with the software needed to view these files, you may need assistance after retrieving the data.

Census Data: American Factfinder
Produced by: US Census Bureau 
Geographic coverage: Census tract level
Dates of coverage: 2000 to current

Insert:  Education- Choose Topic

Includes: School enrollment, educational attainment (highest grade achieved by number, sex, and percentage of population) and more.

Other Information: Interactive site. You will need to select a table, then select the geographic variable.