Sources of Census Data, population estimates, and population projections
Texas State Data Center and Office of the State Demographer
Texas Health Data-- Population Estimates, Census Counts & Projections
Texas Vital Statistics reports (includes marriage/divorce)
- See Figure 25 for trends dating back to 1970. If not available in the most current year, select the prior year.
US Census Bureau
- US Counties
This is an easy to use resource, allowing you to retrieve tables for your county by broad categories.
- Texas Quick Facts (date of coverage varies, county and city level)
- Census Topics
- Age and Sex: Understanding a population’s age and sex composition yields insights into changing phenomena and highlights future social and economic challenges.
- Ancestry: Ancestry refers to one’s ethnic origin or descent, "roots," or heritage, or the place of birth of the person or the person’s parents or ancestors before their arrival in the United States. Ethnic identities may or may not represent geographic areas.
-
- Business Owners: Businesses are categorized by the owner's sex, ethnicity, race, and veteran status. Firms not classifiable by sex, ethnicity, race, and veteran status include: publicly-held, foreign-owned, and not-for-profit companies.
- Children: All Census Bureau demographic surveys collect information about children. The information collected varies.
- Foreign Born: The foreign-born population includes anyone who is not a U.S. citizen at birth, including those who become U.S. citizens through naturalization. The native-born population includes anyone who is a U.S. citizen at birth.
- Hispanic Origin: Hispanic origin can be viewed as the heritage, nationality, lineage, or country of birth of the person or the person’s parents or ancestors before arriving in the United States. People who identify as Hispanic, Latino, or Spanish may be any race.
- International: The Census Bureau conducts demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries and strengthens statistical development around the world through technical assistance, training, and software products.
- Language Use: English is the language spoken by most people in the United States and is the language used in most governmental functions. The Census Bureau collects data on language use to count the population speaking other languages who might be helped with translation services, education, or assistance in accessing government services.
- Migration/Geographic Mobility: Migration and geographic mobility both refer to the movement of people from one location to another. Whereas migration typically refers to moves that cross a boundary, such as a county or state, mobility includes both short and long-distance moves.
- Population Estimates: The Census Bureau's Population Estimates Program produces estimates of the population for the United States, its states, counties, cities, and towns, as well as for Puerto Rico and its municipios. Demographic components of population change (births, deaths, and migration) are produced at the national, state, and county level.
- Population Projections: Population projections are estimates of the population for future dates. They are typically based on an estimated population consistent with the most recent decennial census and are produced using the cohort-component method. Projections illustrate possible courses of population change based on assumptions about future births, deaths, net international migration, and domestic migration.
- Race: The Census Bureau collects race data according to U.S. Office of Management and Budget guidelines, and these data are based on self-identification. People may choose to report more than one race group. People of any race may be of any ethnic origin.
- Veterans: Demographic, social, and economic data on veterans are collected on several Census Bureau surveys. These data are used for policy analysis, program planning, and budgeting of veteran programs.
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS) (University of Minnesota, Minnesota Population Center; 1850 to current; geographic levels vary)
For advanced data users, IPUMS has made available through its system the 1 percent and 5 percent samples from the Public Use Microsample (PUMS) data for the 2000 Census.
HUD Census Data Retrieval (1970-2000)
Select Texas to choose a city or select an MSA. Data provided includes population, housing and homeownership, race/ethnicity & immigrants, poverty and income, employment/labor force, occupations and industries.
Population/Census State Projections (CDC WONDER; 2004 to 2060 national level data 2004 to 2030 state level data)
Other sources of social, demographic, and economic statistics
DiversityData (Harvard University, School of Public Health; Metropolitan areas; 1980 - 2000)
"Diversitydata.org allows visitors to explore how metropolitan areas throughout the U.S. perform on a diverse range of social measures that comprise a well-rounded life experience." Includes major cities in Texas including Abilene, Corpus Christi, San Angelo, Texarkana, and Wichita Falls. Get data for an area by ranking, in the form of a map, or in a table. Variables include:
State of the Cities Data System (SOCDS) (Housing & Urban Development, 1970's through 2009)
This interactive site provides information on:
Metropolitan Racial and Ethnic Change: Census 2000 (Lewis Mumford Center for Comparative Urban and Regional Research at the University of Albany; metropolitan level data; 1990 and 2000)
Interactive reports; includes: Segregation; Segregation - children (under 18); Hispanic Groups; Asian
School Segregation; Homeowners and Renters; The New Americans; State of the Cities; Separate and Unequal; Diversity in Black and White; Dimensions of Segregation; and Occupational Change.
Labor Market Information (Texas Workforce Commission; city, county, MSA, and State level data; 1990 to 2004)
Interactive reports; find monthly and quarterly data for unemployment, unemployment rate, labor force, and employment.
EEO Data Tool (US Census Bureau; county, MSA, and State level data; 2000)
Create interactive reports showing the ethnic and racial makeup of broad categories of job classifications.
HHSC Research, Planning, and Evaluation Monthly Program Statistics Reports (Texas Health and Human Services Commission; October 2002-August 2003; county level data)
These statistical reports provide monthly data showing: basic demographics; employment/unemployment; cost of living indices; population living in poverty; uninsured by age; Medicaid enrollment; Medicaid enrollment for children; Medicaid-covered births; and CHIP enrollment and renewal.
Kids Count Data Center
Produced by: Annie E. Casey Foundation
Geographic coverage: National, State, County, City level
Dates of coverage: Varies
- Demographic
- Economic well-being
- Employment/income, public assistance, poverty
- Education
- School attendance, test scores
- Health indicators
- CHIP enrollment, birth outcomes
Last updated: 3/8/2017
