Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Government Statistical Agencies
International Data Sources
AidData: Tracks $40 trillion in international aid and development projects
EuroStat:Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg.
FAOstat (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations): Statistics and data on agricultural production around the world.
International Monetary Fund – World Economic Outlook Database
The World Economic Outlook (WEO) database contains selected macroeconomic data series from the statistical appendix of the World Economic Outlook report, which presents the IMF staff's analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups and in many individual countries. It includes data on national accounts, inflation, unemployment rates, balance of payments, fiscal indicators, trade for countries and country groups (aggregates), and commodity prices whose data are reported by the IMF. IMF Data Mapper allows users to create charts and tables of the data.
Nation Master: NationMaster is a central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. It contains a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World
Factbook, UN, and OECD. With it you can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.
OECD: Data from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development
Pew Global Attitudes Project
The Pew Research Center’s Global Attitudes Project conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people’s assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. Survey data are released after all reporting is completed, typically two years following completion of the fielding of the survey.
PovcalNet: An interactive computational tool that allows you to replicate the calculations made by the World Bank's researchers in estimating the extent of absolute poverty in the world.
Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center
SEDAC’s mission is to develop and operate applications that support the integration of socioeconomic and earth science data and to serve as an “information gateway” between the earth sciences and social sciences. Its primary areas of focus are:
Environment and Health (EH)
Environmental Sustainability (ES)
Environmental Treaties and Resource Indicators (ENTRI)
Hazard Vulnerability Assessment (HVA)
Model Visualization and Analysis (MVA)
Population Land-Use and Emissions (PLUE)
Poverty and Food Security (PFS)
UNESCO Data Centre
The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) collects the data for more than 200 countries from Member States and international organizations. The UIS Data Centre contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication and allows users to download predefined tables or build their own. Summary data (profiles and global rankings) are also available.
UNdata: A World of Information
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) provides this internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
World Bank:The World Bank's Data Catalog provides download access to over 2000 indicators arranged by country, indicator and topic. The World Bank is a premier source for data on economic and social issues throughout the world.
World Health Organization
The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programs and provides links to supporting information.