Skip to main content
site header image

CHARTing Health Information: Complications & Other Birth Topics

This Web site has been designed to provide a comprehensive collection of links to publicly available health and health determinants data. While the emphasis is on the state of Texas, there are links to sites that cover all of the U.S.

Key to the Texas symbol

This symbol indicates that the resource provides data only for Texas.

If there is no symbol, the resource provides data for all US states including Texas.

Complications and Other Topics Data Resources

THCIC Statistical Reports 
Produced by: TX Health Care Information Collection Home, Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County and state level
Dates of coverage: varies

Additional reports on general hospital quality and indicators of patient care by hospital are available from the Texas Health Care Information Collection Home.

 

 

 

 

 

To view 2002-2007 VBAC and C-section delivery rates, once you get to Hospital Level Inpatient Quality Indicators By Geographic Area Database, select the Utilizations drop -down menu.

 

HCUPnet Hospital Stays
Produced by: US Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
Geographic coverage: State level, National level
Dates of coverage: 1997 to current

Statistics on hospital inpatient, emergency department, and ambulatory settings, as well as population-based health care data on counties

You can view statistics  by specific diagnoses but you will need to know the ICD-9-CM codes: 630-679 (Complications of pregnancy, childbirth, and the puerperium); 740-749 (Congenital anomalies); and 760-779 (Certain conditions originating in the perinatal period)). HCUP wants a 4-digit code.  If you want all examples of complications of pregnancy, enter: 6300-6379, then specify you want the diagnoses listed separately.

For broad classifications, consider looking at data by CCS categories.  There is a listing of the ICD-9 codes that are encompassed by each CCS categories. Childbirth and complications from childbirth can be found in categories 177-196.

See the description of the State Inpatient Database to learn more about data elements in the SID as well as how the SID can be used.

PeriStats
Produced by: March of Dimes
Geographic coverage: State, County, City level
Dates of coverage: 1995 to 2010

When asked to select a location, choose HHS 6. You will then be able to choose Texas under the list of states. From there, you can choose one of the following cities: Arlington, Austin, Dallas, El Paso, Fort Worth, Houston, San Antonio; or one of 10 counties.

Report variables include: birth rates, birth rates showing percentage by age of mom, birth rates showing percentage by race/ethnicity of mom, overall preterm birth or by maternal age or by race/ethnicity, overall low birthweight or by maternal age or by race/ethnicity, prenatal care timing, prenatal care adequacy, infant mortality rates, infant deaths by age, multiple deliveries, delivery methods, smoking, chlamydia, and uninsured.

Assisted Reproductive Technology Clinic Reports
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention Geographic coverage: Facility information
Dates of coverage: Current

Select your state of interest, then the clinic.

Data is described by ART cycle profile as well as types of embryos/eggs and age of women.

Migration for Birth Data
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County level

This report provides data showing the counties that women go to or come from for their births. Migration from the county to and out of state is also tracked.

Texas WIC Nutrition Risk Reports Texas resources
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County level
Dates of coverage: 2009 to 2012

Select: Top link to go to page with all 3 reports, or individual report by year.

Includes: Pre-Pregnancy Underweight; Low Birth Weight; Lead Poisoning; Gestational Diabetes in Current Pregnancy; Hypertension; Maternal Smoking; Breastfeeding; and much more.

Other Information: These reports require that you use the risk code interpret them, i.e. they are not user friendly. But the information provided covers a wide variety of pregnancy and post-partum conditions and is extremely detailed.

Texas Pediatric & Perinatal HIV Annual Report Texas resources Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services Bureau of HIV and STD Prevention
Geographic coverage: Selected cities and State level
Dates of coverage: Through July 2007

This is a bit out of date, but there doesn't appear to be anything more current. 

Rest assured-- We'll be on the lookout for better data!

Number of Reported Infants Born to HBsAg+ Women in Texas 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services Infectious Disease Control
Geographic coverage:  State level
Dates of coverage: 2001-2009

 

Subject Guide

Angel Hooper's picture
Angel Hooper
Contact:
713-500-9124