Skip to main content
site header image

CHARTing Health Information: Sexually Transmitted Infections

This Web site has been designed to provide a comprehensive collection of links to publicly available health and health determinants data. While the emphasis is on the state of Texas, there are links to sites that cover all of the U.S.

Key to the Texas symbol

This symbol indicates that the resource provides data only for Texas.

If there is no symbol, the resource provides data for all US states including Texas.

STI Incidence

Sexually Transmitted Disease Morbidity Data
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Geographic coverage: State level
Dates of coverage: 1984 to 2011

These data are summarized from Sexually Transmitted Disease (STD) morbidity case reports reported to the National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention (NCHHSTP), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), for the 50 United States and the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands and Guam. The number of cases and disease incidence rates are reported by year, type of STD, and area of report and are further aggregated by gender or gender, age group, and race/ethnicity.

Weekly Data from the National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Geographic coverage: State level
Dates of coverage: 1996 to present

Select: There are 8 tables reporting the disease in alphabetical order by disease. You will need to find the table by trial and error.

Includes: Infectious diseases; specifically, salmonella, tuberculosis, meningococcal infections, septicemia,syphilis, measles, viral hepatitis, HIV, and malaria to name a few.

Other Information: These are provisional cases of selected national notifiable diseases, from the National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System (NNDSS). NNDSS data reported by the 50 states, New York City, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. territories are collated and published weekly as numbered tables printed in the back of the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR). Cases reported by state health departments to CDC for weekly publication are provisional because of ongoing revision of information and delayed reporting.

HIV/AIDS & STD Statistics and Trends: Reports 
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services Bureau of HIV and STD Prevention
Geographic coverage: County level
Dates of coverage: 1987 to 2014

Includes: Border profile, perinatal HIV transmission, Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System HIV/AIDS section, and HIV/STD Surveillance Reports by county (covers HIV/AIDS, chlamydia, gonorrhea, syphilis, and pelvic inflammatory disease).

Sexually Transmitted Diseases (STDs): Data & Statistics 
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Geographic coverage: State; selected cities (Houston, Dallas)
Dates of coverage: 1996 to current minus 1 year generally

Select:The Surveillance Report for the report, color slides, and the supplements or just go to the supplements.

Includes: Summary by disease and by state showing historical trend for that disease as well as data by different types of health care facilities (STD clinics, family planning clinics, etc.).

AIDS Public Data
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Geographic coverage: Texas Metropolitan Statistical Areas
Dates of coverage: 1981 to 2002

Includes: Age, race/ethnicity, dead/not dead, sexual orientation, HIV exposure category, and case definition.

Other Information: Interactive database; MSAs include: Austin, Dallas, El Paso, Fort Worth, Houston, McAllen-Edinburg-Mission, and San Antonio

Texas Viral Hepatitis from VitalWeb
Produced by: Expert Health Data Programming
Geographic coverage: County level
Dates of coverage: 1992 to 1999

Select: Standard Interface for one page search tool; Wizard Interface for multi-page search tool.

Includes: Morbidity for all forms of viral hepatitis.

Other Information: Interactive database; report variables include gender, race/ethnicity, or age as well as by type of hepatitis and year.

Perinatal Hepatitis B
Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services
Geographic coverage: County level
Dates of coverage: 2001-2009

Includes: Number of infants who have been identified that were born to women who were HBsAg-positive; number of infants receiving Hepatitis B prevention services; and number household contacts and sexual partners of HBsAg-positive women who received Hepatitis B prevention services.

    STI Mortality

    AIDS Public Data
    Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
    Geographic coverage: Texas Metropolitan Statistical Areas
    Dates of coverage: 1981 to 2002

    Includes: Age, race/ethnicity, dead/not dead, sexual orientation, HIV exposure category, and case definition.

    Other Information: Interactive database; MSAs include: Austin, Dallas, El Paso, Fort Worth, Houston, McAllen-Edinburg-Mission, and San Antonio

    HIV/AIDS & STD Statistics and Trends: Reports  Produced by: Texas Department of State Health Services Bureau of HIV and STD Prevention Geographic coverage: County level Dates of coverage: 1987 to 2014

    Includes: Border profile, perinatal HIV transmission, Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System HIV/AIDS section, and HIV/STD Surveillance Reports by county (covers HIV/AIDS, chlamydia, gonorrhea, syphilis, and pelvic inflammatory disease).

    Surveillance and Statistics Produced by: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Geographic coverage: State; selected cities (Houston, Dallas) Dates of coverage: 1996 to 2010

    Link to CDC Wonder for 1984 to 2008 interactive data

    Select:The Surveillance Report for the report, color slides, and the supplements or just go to the supplements.

    Includes: Summary by disease and by state showing historical trend for that disease as well as data by different types of health care facilities (STD clinics, family planning clinics, etc.).

    Other Information: While the data is not as geographically discrete as that provided by TDH, it does provide data that is not available elsewhere.

    Texas Data from VitalWeb
    Produced by: Expert Health Data Programming
    Geographic coverage: County level

    Texas Viral Hepatitis Deaths [ICD-9]
    Dates of coverage: 1980 to 1998


    Viral Hepatitis Deaths [ICD-10]
    Dates of coverage: 1999 to 2000

    Select: Standard Interface for one page search tool; Wizard Interface for multi-page search tool.

    Includes: Mortality for all forms of viral hepatitis.

    Other Information: Interactive database; report variables include gender, race/ethnicity, or age as well as by type of hepatitis and year.

    Weekly Mortality Data from the MMWR
    Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
    Geographic coverage: City and regional level
    Dates of coverage: 1996 to present

    Includes:Shows a weekly tally of deaths for all causes by age breakouts for Austin, Corpus Christi, Dallas, El Paso, Ft. Worth, Houston, and San Antonio.

    Other Information: These are data from the CDC 122 Cities Mortality Reporting System as printed in Table III of  the MMWR each week.

    Subject Guide

    Angel Hooper's picture
    Angel Hooper
    Contact:
    713-500-9124